The Ick Factor

Okay, we’re parents. We’ve seen gross things. Barf. Poop. Barf and poop at the same time. Getting spit up on. Getting spit up in your own mouth. Yep, we’ve all been there. But, sometimes, the ick factor is really taken to its limits.

Enter my preschooler.

Today, he fell down on the playground. They said there was a lot of blood, but that the cut itself wasn’t too bad. They were more worried about getting the wound cleaned out – there were a lot of little rocks in there. So, we took him to the doctor. No stitches, but they were going to have to get to those rocks.

1911672_10152676841067722_5091638551345520502_n

They put the numbing cream on. (That’s the white stuff on his knee.) Then, we waited. He’d just about calmed down again when the doctor came back in the room and said the words my 4-year-old certainly didn’t want to hear, “We’re going to have to cut that flap of skin to get the rocks out.”

“Cut the flap? CUT THE FLAP?!” my 4-year-old repeated, alarmed.

It took two nurses and my ex husband to hold his legs while I held his hands so the doctor could cut. I tried my best to whisper positive things into my baby boy’s ear, while tears wet his cheeks. But, at some point, I realized I was no longer talking. Instead, I was praying it would be over quickly, all while realizing I was starting to feel a little light-headed.

No, I didn’t pass out. No, my little one didn’t pass out. In fact, he was good as new (except for the massive bandage) once he got a popsicle. But, I certainly felt that if I had to look into that patch of freshly cut flesh anymore, that I’d soon hit the ground.

So, my question to you seasoned veterans of parenting is, what’s your breaking point? When does the ick factor enter in for you?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cassie Potter
    Aug 07, 2014 @ 14:03:03

    Two very bad ones for me: my oldest, when he was 2, hit the edge of the coffee table…with his face. I had to hold him down while the doc stitched right by his eye. The other was my youngest, at 4, when he front flipped off his bike and mashed the pavement with again, the face. He came up with a cut open chin, a tooth dangling, lip cut from tooth, and blood EVERYWHERE! And, we were on our bikes: no wallet, no car, not close to anyone. Had to call a friend to give us a ride; then a nurse gave us a ride to the dentist after the doc fixed the chin.
    Whole thing was terrible

    Reply

Leave a Reply

