Getting Involved

You know that expression, “time is money?” The older I get, the more I realize the truth in that statement. There is so much that needs to be done: laundry, dishes, homework, housework, lawn chores, etc. And yet, the hours in the day remain the same. Every day, we get the same amount of time to get everything done. Often times, we spend our time complaining about what all there is to do. I know I do. But, it catches me every time I really think about it: what we spend our time on, is what our life can be measured or defined around. It shows what we value. The same can be said about money. It’s not what we say we value or cherish, it’s what we do with our time and money that shows what we value and cherish. I am so guilty of this. One does not equal the other.

What I really want, what I value and cherish, is for my kids to grow up with such a moral compass that they’ll just do the things that I constantly say are important to me, and yet don’t find time to act upon. Things like those we’re all called upon by Jesus to do: help those who can’t help themselves, feed the hungry, clothe the naked, visit the sick and imprisoned. I know, I know these are things I’m called to do. And yet, I fill my time with other things. Laundry, dishes and daily life get in the way of what I feel is really important. I can always find an excuse and something that will fill my time. But the hole is never filled. I always feel lacking for what I haven’t accomplished.

So, today, I am making a vow to myself. I’m going to take the steps to raise my kids knowing what needs to be done and actually doing it. I vow to get involved in things outside the small circle that makes up my life. And, I vow to bring my kids along for the ride. It may start small. It probably will. Maybe it will just be offering to help a neighbor take out the trash. But, we’re going to do it.

Here’s where you come in. I want you to hold me – us – accountable to this. Quite frankly, I want you to call me out on my BS. When I write about something (or, don’t), I want you to ask me what I’ve done to model the values I say I hold dear. Call me out on it. Please.  Because, time is money. And every day we run a little lower on both. Lets measure or success not in wealth but in the hours we spend helping others.

If you want in on this, please, lets act together. Share what your family is doing. Our kids deserve this.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. John Hanrahan
    Sep 23, 2013 @ 08:17:40

    Very good advice in this post and I totally agree with your points. Kids are our future, we must make sure they grow up with good morals.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 14:28:18

      John, thanks for the compliment. You are right – kids are our future. If we won’t teach them how to care for all of those around us, who will?

      Reply

  2. NvRMnD (@NvRMnD907)
    Sep 27, 2013 @ 11:18:33

    My wife and I spend a few hours each month volunteering at a hospital in our city. We lead meetings of people with children in the Neonatal Intensive Care Unit (NICU). We had spent over two months there when our son was born premature. It was a scary and hectic time in our lives. We felt alone and helpless. We had no one to turn to who understood what we were going through. We lost all perspective and were fully consumed by the situation. We never want people to feel that way so we bring those who are forced into that situation together to discuss or just listen to others in similar circumstances. This is at a Catholic founded hospital and many times we will have a Pastor involved with the meetings but there are people there from all faiths. We encourage them to find personal help from whatever spiritual device they wish. I personally, if asked to label myself, am a secular humanist. I believe all people are capable of great good as well as great harm but believe that most wish to make things better for others than worse. The thing I point out to those who are without divine faith is this: This is the best time to have the worst things happen. To this I get many confused looks. I explain, if you had a child born premature 100 years ago or even 10 years ago the chances of survival would be substantially lower than now. Medicine and science have enlightened us to new techniques and new technologies that a short time ago would’ve made things look impossible. If you think about the timeline of history as a whole then the chances of you being in this situation, at this specific time, with these specific advantages over all human existence than you can see how lucky we really are. Even if we take time out of the equation than you are still left with the very large chance of being in this same situation in a place on earth that does not have these advantages. Although you may not believe in fate, divine intervention, or prayer you have to admit to yourself that the chances of you being in a much worse situation are infinitely greater than you think. I count myself the luckiest person in history every moment of every day even when things don’t quite work out as planned.

    As far as helping others goes, don’t do it because you think you have to. Do it because it makes you feel better. Be selfish about that feeling, it’s ok. We wouldn’t want to do it if it felt horrible. When those without hope leave with even a slightly better feeling about their lives then I feel better about mine. Sit down and take a moment to tell children that there are people out there who are in pain or are struggling through no fault of their own. They will ask how they can help and they will suggest things. Explain that they may never be thanked for helping and that this is ok. Ask them what they cherish and encourage them to think about what life would be like without those things. As a child I would be given an empty box and be asked if I wanted to help another child in need. I wasn’t forced to. I was simply asked if there were any toys or clothing that I haven’t used or cared about that would bring someone else great joy to have gifted to them. Many times I took things I still held dear to me and put them in the box, knowing that I would never see them again but also knowing that the feelings I had for that object would be the same for another kid. Over time I realized that the things I truly cherished had no price tag, needed no batteries, and could never be given away.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Nov 03, 2013 @ 14:27:01

      NvRMnD, thank you so much for this comment. Your insight about giving to others and your experience working in the hospital brought me back to my family’s repeat visits to the Children’s Hospital. Over my kids’ lifetimes, we have had several visits and stays there. And yet, we have overcome. Each time, God has brought us through that experience. And, much like your experience, has given us something we can use to help those around us. What an amazing gift you can give other parents who are struggling and afraid. And it IS scary, as you know all too well.
      Thanks again for your thoughts and taking time to leave them. I hope you’ll keep reading and commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

