Impulse Buys and Healthy Dinners – An Unlikely Marriage

Typically, those impulse buys you make at the grocery store- you know, the ones you make when you shop when you’re hungry which is exactly what they tell you not to do – are not the healthiest of choices. Typically you end up tossing something in your cart that you definitely don’t need. Things like – oh, I don’t know, a three gallon container of Brownie Blitz ice cream or a bag of chips or a Snickers bar. That is the typical impulse purchase. Tonight was atypical.

Tonight, I made a few impulse buys. It started with a pineapple. They were on sale for ridiculously cheap. $1.50. That’s crazy. So, when my son asked if we could buy one – I went through the checklist in my head: Is it healthy? Check. Is it expensive? Nope. In the cart it went. But then, then, I saw the new fangled pineapple slicer.

2013-06-03_20-56-57_179

I mean, you can’t spend all evening cutting a pineapple! You NEED a pineapple cutter to help you through the process you only embark on once, maybe twice, a year. $9.99? Sure, it’s only 6.66 times more expensive than the fruit. An evil ratio, I say! In the cart it went. (For the record, it actually works really well.)

Then, we continued our trek through the store – throwing in more items we didn’t need, including brocoli slaw. I had some kale at home (which I failed miserably over the weekend trying to turn into kale chips) and I thought it might make a yummy salad. We made it out of the store with only one really naughty impulse buy. Soft brownie cookies…

Anyway, we went home and I started to prepare dinner. Dinner that typically might consist of something unhealthy, from a typical impulse buy. Instead, I made a kale- brocoli  slaw – pineapple salad. I used the pineapple juice as a dressing.

2013-06-03_20-57-08_145

I’m going to take the nearly empty bowl as a compliment.

For our main course, we had tofu curry. Kids scarfed that down, too.

2013-06-03_20-57-43_505

And, for dessert – watermelon.

2013-06-03_20-57-19_675

Now – let me set you straight. You may be rolling your eyes over our very vegan dinner. I’m not a vegan. I love me some bacon. I’m not sure how supper ended up so healthy. But, it was yummy. Oh, and I am now (after the kids are in bed) enjoying that soft brownie cookie we discussed earlier. All is right with the world.

One more thing before I go. Just to leave you with a WTH moment, while garage saling with my husband this weekend, we discovered the oddest thing.

2013-06-01_16-45-31_941

Yes, indeed, that is a real live alligator. In ALASKA! About two and a half feet long. It was just chillin. Oh, and did I mention I got to hold her? Thank goodness my kids weren’t there. When I told them about it later, they asked if I bought it. Um, no, she wasn’t for sale. And a good thing, too. I probably would have to account for yet another impulse buy. At least I wouldn’t be tempted to eat this one.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stephanie B.
    Jun 04, 2013 @ 12:19:53

    Impulse buying is the worst sometimes. When Hubby and I go shopping we go with a list and a budget, if we get everything on the list but still have a little money left over we try to think of something we need that we didn’t put on the list or something we would like to have food wise as long as it isn’t to bad for us or too expensive. We also try to go when we aren’t hungry or hello junk food. Your dinner sounded amazing!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jun 26, 2013 @ 12:12:45

      Stephanie B., you should have seen me and my hubby at Costco the other night! Out of control…

      Reply

      • Stephanie B.
        Jun 28, 2013 @ 09:28:11

        Hahaha Yeah Costco is bad for out of control, There is just so much there and then you find something you like, or hubby finds something he likes or you find something you both like. Its a dangerous store 🙂

Leave a Reply

