The Last Day of School

Today’s the day. The last day of school. Children everywhere are counting down the hours until that bell rings and they are free for the entire summer. Free to run and play and… oh wait, do kids do that anymore? Should I revise that statement? Should it read instead, “Free to sit on their butts and play video games…” ?

Anyway, I digress. Today is the last day of school and soon I’ll be headed to a last day picnic at my children’s school. They are thrilled not for just summer break, and the prospect of no homework and sleeping in, but the idea of advancing. Today means their last day as 1st and 4th graders. Starting tomorrow, they’ll be 2nd and 5th graders. That’s the big league, people.

With that advancement comes a certain degree of apprehension. What will 2nd and 5th grade hold? Will they get enough recess? What about snack? Will their new teacher be nice? What if he/she gives too much homework? There are a lot of questions out there. But, those fears and worries will soon be forgotten about, replaced with runs through the sprinkler and ice cream cones and camping trips and bike rides.

As I former teacher, I have this feeling of anticipation, too. I find myself counting down to my own summer break – a summer break I no longer get now that I’m not a teacher. Still, I’m excited for what the summer sun will bring – happy family outings and maybe, just maybe, vegetables in my garden – Alaska summer weather, permitting. I’m looking forward to evenings without homework – time we can instead spend in the yard or on a walk or just hanging out.

When that school bell rings its last time this school year, what things are you looking forward to doing with your kids?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    May 23, 2013 @ 11:02:20

    Besides sleeping in?? 🙂 I plan on spending lots of park and Library time..going to be doing lots of crafts, and day trips. After today I will have one in 3rd grade and 2 in Kindergargen…. Happy Summer!!!!

    Reply

  2. mommyof2boyzntxTara
    May 25, 2013 @ 05:46:17

    We’re making it a goal to limit TV/video games to no more than 2 hrs a day, but only for 15-30 mins at a time…Like I said, it’s “a goal.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

