Summer Vacation is Coming…

Despite the brown grass and bare trees, summer is right around the corner. Soon, our children will be running free, like a pack of wild dogs, with no school to tether them. Whether you work outside of the home or are a stay at home mom, the common question running through the minds of most moms and dads is: WHAT ARE THEY GOING TO DO ALL SUMMER?!

These days, as a mom who works in an office, I worry where my kids will go during the day and who will keep them safe. However, when I was a mom who stayed home, I wondered what I was going to do with my kids all day every day for three months. We did a lot of fishing and camping and besides the many, “Mom, I’m bored!” moments, I miss it like crazy.

So – moms/dads who work in offices and moms/dads who work at home – what are your kids doing this summer? (Oh man, I just totally had a flashback to the last day of school in elementary school: “Okay class, write an essay on your plans for summer vacation.”)

No need for an essay here, folks. Just tell me what’s in store for the time from now until the school bell rings again this fall.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda
    May 17, 2013 @ 16:51:24

    Since I recently moved to a new state and have a daughter who will be turning one at the beginning of the summer, I have a summer of ‘Firsts’ to celebrate. I want to take her to the zoo. I want to take her to the beach. I’ve thought about a picnic and a stroll through one of the local county/state parks. I want to share the fun experiences I remember from childhood. Spending time with her cousins. Going to the pool. Learning to enjoy the outdoors and the indoors also. I want to share my love of reading and enjoying to bake. I hope that she’ll one day look back and remember that summers were filled with fun times as I remember them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

