Natural Beauty

Have you seen that Dove spot that is going around – that shows what happens when a woman describes herself to a sketch artist and then someone else she has met describes the woman  to the same artist? The woman’s self perception made for an ugly portrait, while the portrait based on the stranger’s description of the woman was always more beautiful and accurate. The video is to promote Dove and natural beauty.

The idea of natural beauty came up this week while my daughter was watching me put makeup on. She said she “can’t wait!” to start wearing makeup. I told her the key was to keep it simple. She’s beautiful as is – naturally beautiful – and she doesn’t need to cover that up.

That got me thinking about all those movies where the dorky girl gets a makeover (which typically just means putting on a shorter dress and taking off her glasses) and all of a sudden people realize she’s gorgeous. I wish those movies could be shown in reverse. I don’t want my daughter thinking she has to wear the right clothes or cake on makeup or lose weight to look pretty. I want people to see how her beautiful spirit shines through her porcelain skin and rosy red lips. How it’s her goodness that makes her who she is. “Pretty is as pretty does,” my mom used to say.

I want my daughter to be able to describe herself accurately, to paint a perfect picture of herself – not gloating, just accurate. I want her to have a positive self-image – confidence in not only what she looks like, but who she is. I don’t want makeup or fashion getting in the way of that.

What do you plan to teach your daughter about makeup? When were you allowed to wear it?

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:21:01

    I still don’t wear any on a daily basis – my skin is stillll to pron to breakouts and ultimately I am lazy about it. I don’t care, I don’t think it adds to who I am. I will put a bit on for a fancy event, but then, I also put on fancy clothes then too. Even still my daughter can not wait!!!! for when she can wear make up. I hope that she learns a less is more approach and also know how to rock it when she does wear it. time and place being key bits of info. That video is amazing though, made me sit and wonder how someone else would describe me.

    Reply

  2. Stephanie B.
    Apr 26, 2013 @ 06:37:01

    I was never really in a rush to want to wear makeup. I was allowed to start wearing it in high school and I was fine with that. I think why i was ok with waiting is my mom taught me that I don’t need makeup to be beautiful, and that I don’t need it on to leave the house. When I did want to start wearing it she took me to Nordstrom’s and had them teach me that less is more and what colors work for my skin tone. I hardly wore make up and still hardly wear it. My husband likes me natural and not all made up. I only wear it on special occasions, or if I just want to add a little splash of color to my day (hardly ever). So if I have a daughter I will teach her the same thing. I do like the new Dove adds.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      May 03, 2013 @ 12:34:32

      Stephanie B., my hubby likes the natural look too. Actually, if you think about it, that’s a pretty big compliment our husbands can give us.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

