Nurturing Our Little Ones

I may have mentioned my sons were both sick the last couple of weeks – taking turns, if you will – with a nasty fever/tummy bug. On the third week, I thought we’d made it through. I was wrong.

On Wednesday morning, I woke up and told my husband I felt like I had a hangover. By midday, I was achy all over – my neck hurt, my eyes, I felt exhausted and my stomach hurt. It was, essentially, a recap of what my little boys had experienced over the last couple of weeks. (They both weren’t sick that entire time. One got sick for a week and the next took his turn the following week.)

By the time I got off work (after taking my lunch break, sleeping in my car) I was ready to crawl under a rock. My husband had to work late – so I knew what was ahead of me: feed children, check homework, play with children, put children to bed. Normally, this is not that big of a deal. But, when you feel like crud – the task is equivalent to climbing Kilimanjaro.

I picked up a movie for the kids. TV time hardly ever happens at our house – so this was a big deal. Then, I begged my daughter to please, oh please, make herself and her brothers some cereal. She flipped on her “mama mode” switch and was in full swing before I knew it. She made me a bowl of chicken noodle soup while she poured her brothers Cheerios.

While the kids ate cereal and watched their movie, I lay on the couch, shivering, under two blankets. I had a fever. I hurt – everywhere. My eyes stung. My stomach felt like someone was occasionally stabbing it.

The next day, I felt about 50% better and today I’m nearly back to my normal self. Unfortunately, my husband now has it. My daughter seems to be the only one who escaped getting sick. She was so sweet, caring for me. She brought me a cool cloth for my head and kept checking on me. I bought her a little thank you gift for being such a sweetheart.

My friend was sick with the same thing and she says it was likely Norovirus, considering how rampant it’s been in the schools and community.

Have you guys been dealing with this nasty little bug? And/or have any of you experienced the tables turning and your child caring for you?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Megan
    Apr 19, 2013 @ 14:14:07

    My daughter had it earlier this year… It was pretty miserable!

    Did your kids get a stomach virus earlier this year as well?
    I hope your daughter is able to avoid it!

    Reply

  2. Carmen Moore
    Apr 20, 2013 @ 14:43:21

    My kids came home with it. Thankfully we are strong believers in essential oils. It lasted a whole 48 hours and was not as bad as others seem to have had it. We don’t get as many sniffles or doctor trips either!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:02:41

      Carmen, tell me more about the essential oils!

      Reply

      • Carmen Moore
        Apr 25, 2013 @ 15:08:23

        Best way is to head over to http://www.mooreak.com. There are links to tons of info and products. (Not looking for a business plug but honestly answering your question!) nothing worse than kids passin it back and forth!! We use OnGuard soap and oils for killing bad bacteria and keeping the good. We use it in place of cleanin products too! No more sniffles and…after 20 years of severe migraines I have been migraine free for almost 5 months. Won’t help everything every time or eliminate dr visits but MAN does it save money and ER trips!!!!

  3. Stephanie B.
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 18:38:25

    When ever my mom got sick, I would take care of her, heck I still do depending on how sick she is, she will call me up and ask hubby and I to go get her stuff from the store or go pick up some food. I have a cold at the moment but doesn’t sound anything like you have going on at your house, here’s hoping your daughter doesn’t get it

    Reply

Leave a Reply

