Daughters – Now Entering Tweenhood

My daughter is a couple of months shy of 11. But, if you ask her, she’s just six short years away from being able to drive a car. She has a car already picked out and everything. She has claimed my husband’s jeep.

She’s been reading these American Girl books – the ones about your changing body and stuff. You know, the 2013 version of what Judy Bloom was to us when we were tweens. In the book, there are these tear out pages with fun activities you can do with your mom – girl bonding time. We did a few yesterday. I loved it. I think she did, too. There are also tear out signs. She has found the one that says, “Do Not Disturb” and read it aloud to her younger brothers – so they will understand what this means when it is hung on her door.

Do Not Disturb – man, that’s more than a sign – that’s a theme for most young ladies from about 10 to 22. I’ve caught the eye rolling and the exasperated sighs and now, here we are with an actual sign that essentially says, “leave me the hell alone.”

I swear, it wasn’t that long ago when she was my only child. She was this beautiful baby girl and I was a terrified new mom. All of a sudden, there was this little tiny girl who, among other more crucial things, needed her hair to be done and I was freaking clueless.  I still am clueless regarding the hair. In fact, my husband showed me this really cool picture on Facebook of a braid.

Easy Looking But Crazy Hard Braid

Easy Looking But Crazy Hard Braid

So yeah… that looked easy enough. I tried to do this to my daughter this morning. The woman doing the braiding in this photo must be an octopus because there is no freaking way you can do this with two hands. I had my daughter holding a piece and my son holding another (which was not the smartest move on my part, by the way…) while I attempted this braid-mare.

Needless to say, it didn’t end well. I braided – then undid it. I tried again. On the third time (and after a lot of under my breath cursing) my daughter suggested, “Mom, why don’t we try this again later tonight when we have more time?” God love that child.

I may try this braiding nightmare again tonight, if my daughter can stand it. But, I know for sure it won’t look like the masterpiece in the picture.

Back to the book and those bonding activities – of which, I do not think braiding hair nightmares is one – it asked what advice your daughter would give her daughter one day. What did my daughter answer? “Don’t rush.” Hmm. Fitting. And this was BEFORE I started massacring her hair.

What advice would you give your daughter and what advice do you think she’ll carry on for her daughter one day?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy
    Apr 12, 2013 @ 14:28:00

    I love your blog!

    Reply

  2. Stephanie B.
    Apr 13, 2013 @ 08:51:52

    Well my advice if I have a daughter actually comes from my mom. Don’t let a guy pressure you in to doing anything you don’t want to do or are not ready to do. If he truly loves you he will understand and respect your choice. If he keeps pushing and says he loves you and that if you loved him you would do it, You need to get rid of him. OH and the other thing I would tell any kid of mine is : I don’t care what time of the day it is, if you are out with your friends and you get uncomfortable or they start drinking or what ever the reason call and I will come get you, and you wont be in trouble. Mom told me that too. I never had to call her until I was married and both hubby and I had gotten a ride from a friend to a bar so we could drink and shoot pool well the friend had one too many and got pulled over and arrested which left us and another friend stranded in a parking lot so I called my mom, she got out of bed got dressed and came and gave us a ride home. She wasn’t mad at all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

