Brightly Speckled Carpets

We just moved into our new house a couple of weeks ago. Our new house with light cream-colored carpet. It was bound to happen. And so it did.

My three-year old son was sent home sick yesterday with a fever. 102.6. He complained of a stomach ache. You’re thinking about my cream-colored carpet, aren’t you? Nope – wait for it. Not yet. I took him home and after some medicine, he was feeling a tad better. He went to sleep and woke up several times throughout the night not feeling well. You’re thinking about my new carpet again, aren’t you? Patience, my friend, patience.

After several hours spent tossing and turning, the alarm clock finally went off, although we were already awake. He’d woken up a few minutes before that, crying. This time he was saying his neck hurt really bad. Now, I don’t want to be “that” mom but I have been known to frequent WebMD a little too much. Darn symptom checker is addictive. Anyway, I have gotten away from all that and now play it case by case, child by child. However, I do know that neck pain and a fever are not a good combo, so when I called the doctor and they said they needed me to bring him in right away, just in case he had meningitis, I didn’t hesitate to make an appointment.

As we prepared to get out the door to his doctor appointment, my little three-year old bundle of unhappiness sat on the couch moaning. Then, it happened. The couch got it. The carpet got it. Did I mention the only thing he’d eaten in the last 12 hours was bright-colored gummy treats? My cream carpet now looks like an Easter egg exploded on it.

Oh, and I made the rookie mistake of pulling the T-shirt he was wearing over his head. It. Was. Everywhere.

After throwing up, his fever came down and now he says he’s feeling much better, although he’s been sleeping for the last two hours. Poor little monkey.

I’ll probably regret this, but what’s the nastiest thing that’s happened to your carpet?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angel
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 15:04:41

    Cocoa pebbles. I ate a huge bowl whilst pregnant. It didnt settle and came right back up, all over my bedroom, bathroom, in the space heater (had to throw that away) the sink…it was ugly. It was 4 years before i could eat those again.

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 16:13:29

    At one point in time, all 3 kids have gotten sick all over the carpet, the most recent was my girls, their beds are side by side with enough room for me o walk sideways, so not much space, so the last time one of them got sick, not only did it get all over her bed, and her, it got all over her sisters bed and since there is little space betwwen beds it got under her sisters bed as well…..oh and they will put every toy, and stuffed animal they own in their beds, so yeah it was a pretty big nasty mess. And the next night pretty much the same thing all over again except it was the other sister..oh the joys!! 🙂

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 09:41:06

      Erin, okay – yep, that’s bad. In fact, it was such a nasty story, I had to share it with my hubby. He says he would have tossed every single one of those toys.

      Reply

  3. mommyof2boyzntxTara
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 04:58:04

    2 toddler boys…plus 2 senior dogs…all had to mark their territory…repeatedly…do I need to say more???

    Reply

  4. cabg
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 21:33:46

    On night after a school Halloween carnival, my then 8-year old threw up countless pieces of greasy cheese pizza on our, also, cream-colored-carpet. I’ve cleaned. I’ve scrubbed. I’ve even used a professional carpet cleaner, but 6 years later I still have a big stubborn grease stain. And, if he had just only faced the opposite direction, he would have hit the bathroom floor. That is probably the biggest question…why do kids and cats (and other pets, I suppose) generally mess up the carpet, literally inches from a safe cleanable floor???

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 08, 2013 @ 15:14:14

      cabg, last night, while my 7 year old son painted my fingernails, I had to jump up abruptly to take the dog outside. He was yacking all over the carpet. My nails are totally jacked today. But, I read somewhere online (so it has to be true) that if you pour white vinegar on a pet stain and then sprinkle baking soda on top, you can leave it for a few days and vacuum up the stain. It’s totally worth a try. In fact, I’m trying it right now…

      Reply

  5. cabg
    Apr 09, 2013 @ 21:11:04

    I agree…it couldn’t hurt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

