The Bunny Blunder

Sometimes, just sometimes, the mythical fairies and figures our children believe in fall through. This weekend was one of those times.

We all know it was the Easter Bunny who was supposed to bring the basket. But, in the midst of Easter weekend – something happened and we forgot another aspect of Easter morning.

We went to an Easter egg hunt at our church Saturday afternoon and attended Easter service that night. During dinner, my seven-year old suddenly spit out a mouth full of food. As I was about to chastise him for such rude behavior, I realized something was amiss.

“My footh!” he shouted/mumbled.

“What?!” I was asking, when he repeated, more clearly this time:

“MY TOOTH! MY TOOTH FELL OUT!”

I should explain, we were eating Italian sausage. There was an archeological expedition-style dig for his tooth, led by his sister. Success. She found it, fished it out and put it in a ziplock bag – tradition in our house. (The bag, not the dig.)

So, my kids went to bed Saturday night, psyched not just for the Easter bunny, but also for the Tooth Fairy to arrive. When they woke Sunday morning (way too early, by the way) they found the Easter basket loaded with candy. They found the tooth money. But, it’s what they didn’t find that really got their attention. There were no eggs hidden throughout the house. Silly me, I thought since they’d done that Saturday, there was no need to hide eggs. Boy, was I wrong.

Any person who called on Easter was met with the same sad story as told by my seven-year old son, “The Easter bunny didn’t hide any eggs. I don’t know why he would do that!”

Mid day, it became obvious I would have to find an answer to that question. And so I did.

“Mom, WHY didn’t the Easter bunny hide any eggs at our house?”

“Well, you know how you lost a tooth last night?”

“Yeah.”

“The Easter Bunny and the Tooth Fairy are pretty good friends, but they hardly ever get to see each other.” I began.

“Okay…” he responded, interested.

“So, when they do get to see each other, they get to talking. And before they knew it, a lot of time had passed. And since they knew they were running out of time and had lots of other kids to visit – they decided they’d have to figure something out.”

My son sat silently watching me, listening.

I continued, “The Tooth Fairy told the bunny just to leave, that the Tooth was more important. The bunny told the Tooth Fairy to leave, that his job was more important. They both started to get a little annoyed with the other. So, they came up with a compromise: The Tooth Fairy could take the tooth and leave the money and the Easter Bunny could leave the basket, but there was just no time for him to hide the eggs. They’d have to move on, to cover all the other houses and all the other kids.”

“Hmm,” he said.

Not much more was said – to me – about the incident, but he continued to tell anyone who would listen about the Easter Bunny Blunder.

Yes, it was an elaborate tale. But, he’s seven and I didn’t want to say, “Well, I forgot.” So.. yeah.

How was your Easter?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jocelyn Amber Potts
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 14:08:33

    The Easter Bunny doesn’t arrive until afternoon, at my house.

    Actually, when I was a kid, he would hide them while my siblings and I were at Sunday school.

    Reply

  2. Stephanie B.
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 23:23:23

    Wow that’s quite the tail (teehee) Nice fast thinking there. The Easter Bunny never hid eggs for us growing up, he brought the baskets and left us notes, it was mom or dad that hid the eggs after we dumped all the candy out of them. We had 3 large dogs growing up so couldn’t leave candy filled eggs around

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 02, 2013 @ 14:29:31

      Stephanie B., um yeah… caught the dog with chocolate-slobber-covered tin foil in his mouth Saturday afternoon after the Church’s Easter egg hunt. I totally get that.

      Reply

  3. Amy
    Apr 02, 2013 @ 14:47:20

    It’s not too late! I bet the Easter bunny can make a special trip back to finish the job!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

