Things Found Under the Bed

No, this post isn’t about scary monsters under the bed, unless, of course, you count dust bunnies.

My seven-year old son has a race car bed. It’s the same bed he’s had for years now. That fun little tidbit may account for the fact that we recently discovered a treasure trove of crap under his mattress. There are small spaces on either side of the mattress that things slip through. Things like toys and socks and hair pins and glasses.

Before you go there – let me say – yes, I do change their sheets. But, I can typically do that without having to lift the entire mattress up. However, a few days ago, I decided I’d let my children take on this chore of changing the bedding. Heck, they are old enough! Well, after a lonnnnnng time in there – I finally decided to see what was going on. They were on an archeological dig under the mattress, arms buried deep in the side openings. My son saw me and asked with excitement, “MOM! Can we take the mattress off?!” I said yes. They flipped the mattress off and their eyes went wide: “WHOA! There’s so much stuff in here!”

I let them dig for treasure, with the one requirement that they really clean it up under there. A while later, they appeared with an entire basket full of stuff. There were glow sticks, socks, pieces of trash and… a Nintendo DS. What?! Where did that come from? It’s not ours!

I began texting/calling friends whose kids may have left this thing here. Who knows how long it’s been here?

Here’s my question, folks – what do you do with the toys that are left behind? I mean, this isn’t a jump rope. It’s an expensive toy! Surely he or she got in some big trouble when they came home without it!

What do I do with this thing?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Candie
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 09:37:48

    Put it up and keep asking around. If after some time goes by and you cannot find the owner then consider it yours…

    Reply

  2. Stephanie B.
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 10:27:48

    I would do what you did call all your friends that have kids, even some of your family members that have been up that have kids and ask. You might want to ask your oldest if she had a friend come over with the game system. I would try pretty hard to find the owner. Then I don’t know what I would do if it goes unclaimed.

    Growing up my brother had a Sega Game Gear and took it on a road trip that the family went on to Homer. Well some how it got lost we thought for sure it fell out of the truck when him and I were climbing out. Years later and I mean years later I had the task of cleaning out the truck cause we were trading it in cause it was too big for my mom to drive (this is a few years after my dad died) and I happened to reach my hand back between the bench seat and the back rest and felt something big and bulky and pulled it out. It was his game system, after all these years we had it with us the entire time. We searched that truck from front to back when he lost it and there it was.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Feb 01, 2013 @ 13:40:36

      Stephanie B., I remember going on vacation once when I was a kid and my parents losing the key to our hotel room. It was a huge deal and they gave my brother and I a talking to about responsibility (blaming it on us.) A few hours later, my dad found the missing key… in his swimming trunks.

      Reply

  3. mommyof2boyzntxTara
    Jan 31, 2013 @ 11:39:39

    Girl, you know how old my hubby is and we just recently looked under his bed…

    Reply

  4. Jocelyn Amber Potts
    Apr 03, 2013 @ 14:37:57

    So they excavated socks, huh?
    Hehehe- that reminds me of your blog about mismatching socks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

