Because He’s Two

My youngest baby turns three in a couple of months. He’s really giving two a run for its money.

Today, he came home with a note from his preschool teacher that said the following:

Today I ate fairly good.

2hr nap.

Back to saying No.

Oh, and above that were the words, “Today I felt:” with corresponding mood selections: happy, frustrated, sick, scared, angry, sad and, the last one, with no corresponding picture, mischievous. Can you guess which one my toddler was today?

As any parent of a … well… I was going to try to narrow that age range down, but basically, any one who has ever had a child over the age of, lets say, 10 months knows… “Back to saying no,” is somewhat to be expected. He does say no. AND, his newest thing? He’s started giving people the stink eye. He downright glared at another toddler who dared walk by him in the produce section of the grocery store the other day. She swerved away and back to the safety of mom and dad.

Of course, we do the whole talking to him business, the occasional timeout and all that jazz. But, this is my third child. And I know this game. Sometimes, like when your dog swallows a chunk of play dough, you just have to wait for things to take their colorful course.

So, when I’m at my wit’s end and trying to figure out why my precious little boy is driving his teacher bonkers, pummeling his brother, then hugging him two seconds later or flailing on the ground because I refused to give him another glass of egg nog, I just recite the mother of toddlers mantra: ‘Because he’s two.”

What are your coping techniques for dealing with this lovely phase of childhood?

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amanda @ The Scacchi House
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 21:40:12

    Our daughter just turned one and feel like she is already giving us a little attitude. I can only imagine what she will be like when she’s your son’s age. Good luck!

    Reply

  2. Paula Whisenant
    Nov 27, 2012 @ 07:08:58

    Oh, I’m with you. My precious boy is 2.7 years old, and No is his favorite word. The stink eye is a regular in our house. Usually Dad or I get it when we ask him to do something he doesn’t like…or tell him to quit doing something he shouldn’t. If he is in a worse mood, that stink eye turns into a downright tantrum. He is our first and only child (we got a late start), so we have no other with whom to compare him. We have often wondered if he is especially bad…and then I read a blog post like this that makes me feel as though we are not alone. I keep telling myself “this phase will pass,” but I’ve been telling myself that so long, I’m beginning to wonder. And I’ve heard “three” could be worse. Have mercy.
    Tired and Weary Mama,
    Paula

    Reply

  3. ❤Clarice Murray❤ (@hunnyakaclarice)
    Nov 28, 2012 @ 13:56:10

    My son doesn’t say no he’ll say I don’t want that or I’m not doing that sometimes it stops me dead in my tracks like excuse me did I just hear what I thought I heard? Such attitude he has hopefully my daughter is more kind and gentle like her father. I can’t get mad at my son though cause the apple doesn’t fall far in fact it may still even be on the branch 🙂

    Reply

  4. tabitha
    Mar 10, 2013 @ 23:35:05

    when my daughter was that age new rules developed such as its okay to scream, but not in my part of the house. take it to your room.this also marked the first time that i informes my daughter that “I am the mommy and that means I am in charge not you”. I also comforted myself with the the thought that I probably deserved what she was dishing out since she is just like me.
    and when all else failed I took her to my moms and dropped off a screaming kicking toddler and I went to work.
    2.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 11, 2013 @ 16:35:49

      Tabitha, did the controlled screaming work? A friend was just saying the other day they heard their child shut the door and say something nasty – but it was in their own space. Maybe that’s the key?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

