Time to Rock!

Well, it’s officially happened. I have begun rocking out to children’s music… even when the children aren’t around.

This morning, I let my son sit in the front seat of my minivan, which, for those of you keeping track, is still hanging on, bad transmission and all.  My son started going through my CD’s. He ran his fingers along them all – the case, strapped to the visor, a couple of feet above his head. He stretched his little arms, searching for just the right one. Then, suddenly, he’d found it: Kids Bop 4.

We proceeded to rock out to such songs as, “Life is a Highway” by Rascal Flatts and “Holiday” by Madonna. Of course, the lyrics and singers were swapped out, but still… Once “Holiday” came on… it was all over with. I was in full-on rock-out mode. I remember my mom doing this when I was a kid, mainly to the oldies station. I would shrink down in the back seat – hiding from anyone who might possibly see my – as my mom danced in the driver’s seat. A new generation of embarrassing mothers was born in the car ride this morning. I wasn’t dancing…. yet. Just singing. A lot.

My question to you folks: What songs are you rocking out to in the car? And, how are your kids handling that?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mommyof2boyzntx
    Nov 19, 2012 @ 10:37:14

    We have just about every “Kids Bop” cd there is…even the holiday themed ones…Oh, & I was right there with you at times when your mom danced/sang while driving her car…and now I find myself doing the same…

    Reply

  2. Jocelyn Amber Potts
    Jul 25, 2013 @ 18:16:20

    No “Kid Bop” for my kids, but we do have a 3 CD set of “Silly Songs”

    Yes, every childhood play song you can think of!

    Not enough kids know these songs anymore, and I LOVE that mine do, and sing them by themselves when we’re not in the car [because that’s only place they get to listen to them- in the car, if I’m the only adult in the car].

    Reply

Leave a Reply

