The Golden Rule

Labor Day weekend was full of fun, food and filth. It seems like those three things go hand in hand when it comes to kids. You can often judge how much fun a child had by how dirty the bath water is when you get them home. That was definitely the case for us.

We spent the weekend at our cabin with my best friend and her family. In total, seven kids ranging in age from six months to 14 years. It was a lot of running, laughing and the occasional tear. The kids were happy to be around each other, but also happy to annoy each other. There was the typical taunting/playing/taunting cycle happening. You know – the usual.

When we got back in town, I had an encounter with someone that left me thinking about the lessons we teach our children. The most basic of them all – the golden rule. I think there’s a stage in life where we begin to forget those valuable lessons our parents taught us. These lessons were given to us for a reason. Like the 10 commandments. These things are given to us, to help us survive this world.

Mom said, “Look both ways before you cross!” and we didn’t get hit by a car.

Dad said, “Think twice before you use that tone with me,” and we learned how to better deal with others in the workplace.

Grandma said, “Don’t throw balls in the house!” and we found out just how much replacing porcelain costs.

Grandpa said, “Respect your elders,” and “Practice that handshake,” and we did better than most on job interviews and meeting the parents.

But, the bottom line of all that is to treat others how you’d like to be treated – do unto others as you would have them do unto you. It seems like a pretty basic lesson for kids and somehow we often forget it as adults.

What ways have you caught yourself not setting a good example of the golden rule with your kids?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Sep 10, 2012 @ 15:41:40

    When someone cuts me off , I don’t cuss but I get really angry quickly and yell at people. Then afterwards I find myself telling the kids that’s not a good way to act and I wasn’t a good example of a christian since God is always watching. I give myself a good guilt trip. I don’t do it very often because of this but once in awhile I do “slip” šŸ™‚

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Sep 10, 2012 @ 20:54:20

      Kim, hmm- sounds like you’re human! Thanks for making me feel like I’m not the only mom who gets upset at times. šŸ™‚

      ________________________________

      Reply

Leave a Reply

