Proudly Wearing My Pirate Purse

I just described myself to a person I was meeting with the following text: “I have a pirate necklace purse on.”

Yeah. I’m a mom.

Before I go much further in explaining myself, let me show you what I’m talking about.

My six-year-old son made this purse for me over summer break. My friend was watching the kids for a few days. She’s one of those awesome moms that can bake, sew, play piano and grow a garden all while watching her own five kids and two of mine. AND she’s super nice. Anyway, she taught my daughter and son to sew these cute little purses. My daughter let me wear hers for a while and then ended up taking it back. My son gave me this bad boy pirate. I placed it on my dresser. That’s where it has sat for the last couple of weeks… until this morning.

My first grade son walked into my room and spotted, with his eagle eye, the purse he had oh-so-carefully crafted for me. With a sad voice and puppy dog eyes, he asked me, “You’re not wearing the necklace I made you, Mom? Don’t you like it?” Instant pangs of mom guilt. I gushed, “Oh, I love it! I’ll wear it today!” And I did.

The pirate accessory must be worn wisely. You’ll note I’m wearing a black sweater. This is an appropriate selection to better compliment the colors of the skull and cross-bones. You’ll also note the way the blue straps stand out against the black. Well done, mommy, if I may say so myself.

So yes, while meeting up with a dad from Craigslist to sell him a used toy bin, I described myself as the woman in the black sweater, standing out front, wearing a pirate necklace purse. He pulled up. He waved and then, with a bit of a laugh, he said, “You’re really wearing a pirate purse. Alright.” Yes, yes I am.

What’s the weirdest thing your child has made you that you’ve worn, proudly to work?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie Melielo
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 15:10:45

    I LOVE it!!! I once wore plastic cockroach earrings all day while teaching 2nd grade. They were given to me first thing in the morning by one of my students.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

