An Unwanted Birthday Surprise

You may have noticed two things from my most recent posts: my daughter turned 10 and she’s been sick. Well, the latter has only gotten worse.

My sweet daughter turned 10 Wednesday. At that point, she’d been sick for exactly a week. We thought she was getting better. In fact, on her birthday, we took her out for a birthday lunch. Her fever had broken and she seemed chipper. That night, she was with her dad. He called me Thursday morning and asked me to come pick up our boys. Our daughter had been up all night, miserable. He brought her to the pediatrician as soon as they opened. They said it was time to admit her.

Eight days in to being sick, and just one day after her 10th birthday, my poor little girl was being poked and prodded in the hospital. She’s had: X-rays, IVs, blood draws, sticks shoved up her nose, other needles in her arms, her urine collected and pretty much anything else you can think of.

Now they’re not sure what it is. She’s not responding to antibiotics. She’s barely eating. She’s lost about 10 percent of her body weight. Right now, she should be celebrating her 10th birthday at her party with her friends. Instead, she’s begging the nurse not to put the stick up her nose again. Instead of birthday cake, she’s getting fluids pumped into her via IV. And yet, I still catch her smiling watching TV.

When she’s quietly sitting here, losing herself in the bazillionth episode of “Good Luck Charlie,” she can hear the babies crying down the hall. She stops watching and sadly says, “Oh, mommy, there are babies here!” Her empathetic nature is amazing.

More than anything, my little girl wants to go home. That would be the best birthday present of all.

Editor’s note: My little girl finally got well enough to come home today! We couldn’t get wi-fi in the hospital, so I couldn’t post this on Saturday as I had intended. Thank God she’s getting better!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Jul 02, 2012 @ 18:18:10

    Glad she is doing better and home now! Your poor kids have been hit hard this year 😦 Guess some extra spoiling is in order.

    Reply

  2. Chantelle
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 06:29:48

    So this is kind of random but I’ve been following your blog for awhile and I think I know you! I believe I used to work with your youngest little monkey. So glad your daughter is doing better!

    Reply

  3. KalleyC
    Jul 03, 2012 @ 08:55:38

    So glad to hear that she’s doing better and she’s home with her family. I agree with Erin, some extra spoiling is in order, but it will be worth it, after all, she has her health.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jul 03, 2012 @ 16:27:48

      KalleyC- man, she struck me right to the heart this morning. I was getting ready for work and she says, “Mom, I wish I was still in the hospital so we could spend more time together.” Insert knife into my heart and twist….

      Reply

  4. Allison Howell
    Jul 08, 2012 @ 23:54:38

    Boy, I sure do understand that “spending time together in the hospital” thing. Got kids with cystic fibrosis who need 2 week admissions periodically and they end up being special relational times. . .Good for your girl for speaking up like that, though; she loves you!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jul 09, 2012 @ 12:19:38

      Allison, it’s rather nice to devote that one on one time with her. Having three kids, it’s hard to get that personalized attention. Wish I could give it to her more often, especially without a hospital visit! Two weeks in the hospital at a time?! Wow. I don’t know how you do it!

      Reply

  5. liesctheawesomeblog
    Jul 16, 2012 @ 17:47:50

    I love your blog

    Reply

Leave a Reply

