Week Two of Sick Kids

I was awake at 3:30 this morning, trying to calm my six-year-old down. He had a fever. Again. He’d already been to the doctor. Twice. He was on his third day of antibiotics and still nothing. He’d had Tyenol and a bath. I laid down with him and we talked. I put a cool rag on his head. He whimpered. I felt awful. That way all parents do when your child is sick and there’s nothing you can do for them. Finally, after an hour, he was calm and we both went to bed.

This morning, I woke to the sound of the toaster. A few minutes later, my six-year-old emerged in my room, with a plate and a travel mug full of coffee. He’d made me breakfast in bed.

As you can see, breakfast consisted of a piece of toast, cheese crackers, a packet of fruit snacks and a fruit roll up. Oh, and coffee. It has got to be the sweetest start to a Monday – EVER!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 15:16:46

    What a sweet lil boy you have!!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 12:29:30

      Erin, he is a total doll. In fact, if he wasn’t vomiting with a fever of 103.5 this morning, he planned on making me breakfast again. He said yesterday’s “had too much sugar.” What a cutie!

      Reply

  2. erin
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 15:17:09

    at least what he gave you was edible 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

