A Melted Mess

Ever heard that song, “Mr. Mom,” by Lonestar? He sings something like, “diapers melt in a Maytag dryer and crayons go up one drawer higher.” Yeah, well, lets combine those two events and you get this lovely image.

While it may appear that I murdered someone, this is, in fact, melted crayon. Red crayon, of course. Red crayon that melted over an entire load of laundry. Swell.

What’s the worst thing you’ve ever melted in the dryer? (My mom found a dead frog in the dryer once, thanks to my big brother. I think the crayon is probably less horrific….)

 

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    May 24, 2012 @ 15:21:32

    lip balm….left a nice grease mark here and there.

    Reply

  2. erin
    May 24, 2012 @ 16:45:09

    well let’s see…I have found melted carmex, red chap stick, red crayon (why is it always red??) but biggest mess was in the washing machine, 2 not 1 but 2 unused diapers somehow found there way into the wash, they exploded and my goodness what a mess it was!!!!

    Reply

  3. mrobinwood
    May 24, 2012 @ 22:41:31

    The Mr. Clean Eraser is now your best friend?

    My husband constantly forgets to clean out his pockets – so pens, sharpies, random bits of wires and plastics, screwdrivers, glue… oh my goodness I could go on and on… A former roommate was in theater and forgot to empty her theatrical makeup bag before washing it… they were doing a horror play at the time – Dracula meets Frankenstein or something – so it was like a murdered Christmas tree in there!

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      May 25, 2012 @ 17:32:02

      Mrobinwood, makeup? Yikes! I thought it was bad when I dropped my eyeliner in the toilet yhis morning. In the dryer would be way worse!

      Reply

      • mrobinwood
        May 25, 2012 @ 18:06:32

        Yep – and not just regular over the counter kind… it was theatrical… the kind that you just about have to take a sander to your face to remove… I wanted to kill her! How the heck do you forget to empty the make up bag before you wash it???? Ugh! lol

      • Mom Land
        May 26, 2012 @ 12:10:17

        Mrobinwood, what a mess!!!

        Sent from my MOTOROLA ATRIX™ 2 on AT&T

  4. Kim
    May 24, 2012 @ 23:11:14

    BLACK SHARPIE My dryer lookes like a toddler did the zig zags not to mentioned ruined some clothes, it was my hubby’s fault.

    Reply

  5. Dusty Finley
    May 24, 2012 @ 23:38:45

    try throwing a bag of Gummie Bears in the dryer – the residue melts all over the dryer – next to impossible to remove.

    Reply

  6. Taryn
    May 25, 2012 @ 01:15:24

    When I was 6 I decided a good place to store my library books was in the dryer. Probably should’ve told my mom before she did the laundry…

    Reply

  7. Kat
    May 25, 2012 @ 07:45:15

    Gum – a nearly full pack. I don’t know how I didn’t notice it switching the laundry to the dryer. UGH! little pieces of red (or course) gum everywhere on the clothes and dryer.

    Reply

  8. Sean Peters
    May 25, 2012 @ 08:07:02

    Sisters cat.

    Reply

  9. KaiLyn
    May 25, 2012 @ 08:41:47

    Worst thing ever were leftover green crayons in dryer when drying dress white uniform law enforcement clothing and needing to be in court the following day. The cleaners got a very big tip that day!

    Reply

  10. Laurel
    May 25, 2012 @ 09:52:58

    My daughter wanted to hide her roller skates from the rest of the kids. In the dryer, and I had been hanging clothes out all summer, so she forgot where they were, until it rained one day and I turned the dryer on before looking inside just to freshen it a bit. Bang, clunk, bang. thud. What the h? is that? From 5 y/o kid, MOMMY, you found my roller skates! Thanks Denise.

    Reply

  11. Heather
    May 25, 2012 @ 09:58:09

    my cat got as far as being closed in the dryer, but thankfully she started freaking out before I turned it on.

    Reply

  12. mrobinwood
    May 25, 2012 @ 18:03:20

    My sister’s sister-in-law lost a couple cats that way unfortunately. =(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

