Life’s Little Treasures

Did you all have a nice Mother’s Day? We have a tradition in our house of taking a drive down the Seward Highway to the Wildlife Conservation Center. (It’s free on Mother’s Day.) Every year, it seems like such a fun idea. But, then, about midway through the drive back, the kids are screaming that they’re hungry, have to pee or someone’s touching them and then I remember why we only go once a year.

Despite the jaunt to Portage, I had a very nice Mother’s Day. It was great to just be with my kids. My son gave me a framed picture of himself. It was the sweetest thing. My daughter cried because she hadn’t gotten me anything (until my fiance gave her a card to give me, which bucked her spirits right up) and my toddler went on with his day, as usual. He threw a tantrum at brunch, to which another mom informed him he wasn’t allowed to do on Mother’s Day…

These last few days, perusing Facebook, I’ve seen tons of posts from my friends about the awesomeness of being a mom. They ranged from your kiddo telling you they love you for the first time, to seeing them learn to do things on their own. So, here’s my simple question to you, this post Mother’s Day:

What’s the best part of being a mom?

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    May 16, 2012 @ 08:48:04

    When you are at your wits end with the fighting,screaming,fit throwing nonsense, not to mention tackling Mt. laundary for the 3rd time in a week, and are about to blow, then one of your children come up to you out of the blue, throw their arms around you and say “I love you mommy”…yeah I’d say that’s the best 🙂

    Reply

  2. Clarice U (@hunnyakaclarice)
    May 16, 2012 @ 16:25:15

    Spot on Erin!! My lil booger likes to throw fits, run around, not listen but out of the blue he’ll yell out at the top of his lungs “mommy i love you” last night he fell asleep on my bed and it just reminded me of when he was first born he used to love sleeping on the bed 🙂 they grow so fast!

    Reply

  3. Jenn Miller
    May 17, 2012 @ 11:12:48

    When I realized that out of my 4 kids, 1 is almost as much of a smart a#$ as I am and another is almost as stubborn as I am…..Ok its when my youngest out of the blue says, “I love you mommy”. Or when my 13 year old wants to spend time with mom.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

