Oh No, B.O.

When my kindergartener pushed open the door to our bedroom last night, I thought we were in for a, “Mommy, I had a bad dream,” or “Mom, (insert name of sister here) won’t stop touching me!” Instead, he walks over to my side of the bed, lifts his arm as high as he can reach and says, “Mom, smell this.”

The smell that wafted out of his pit and into my nostrils had me wincing and nearly gagging. What’s odd, it smelled like cayenne pepper. I’ve been noticing this stinky-boy phenomenon over the last couple of weeks. I’ve caught a whiff here and there. But, now it was obvious: my six-year-old has B.O.

I went through the same thing a couple of years ago with my now-nine-year-old daughter. After a full day of play in the “hot for us” Alaska sun, she flat-out stunk. I started by telling her to wash her pits more regularly. With soap. (Parents: you know we have to specify that one.) When that didn’t work, we tried an all-natural deodorant stone. That didn’t work either. I finally gave up. In summer or high-activity situations, the girl needs some deodorant. The real stuff.

Now, years later, it’s my son’s turn. My little boy is becoming a man, stench and all. My fiance gave him a stick of deodorant (not the antiperspirant kind) and let him have at it. My kindergartener giggled as I swiped it under his arms. “It’s cold!” he said. Then, after sniffing his pit, he smiled. I’m not sure if it was the scent or the idea of being a big boy. Either way it was cute.

Kids at any age can stink. My two-year old’s feet would nearly knock you out if you took a big breath while changing his socks. An article I read says while kids may stink at a young age, puberty is likely the right time to introduce deodorant. What do you think? Besides a bath, what do you do to conquer the smell?

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Deb
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 14:50:11

    I have a five year old grandson (almost six) He has always sweat alot, even when he’s not active….he also now stinks and needs more baths now. More baths, and maybe some Tom’s deodorant…it’s aluminum free, good choice for all of us. If they need it they need it. But I like to use the smell issue to encourage them to be aware they need more baths..since they dont’ seem to think they need those lol.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 21:47:02

      Deb, my son would live in the bath if I let him. He loves to play in there. I’m just not sure how much washing gets done! I might have to try the Tom’s stuff. Thanks for the suggestion!

      Reply

  2. Carrie
    Apr 26, 2012 @ 14:53:17

    Oh my goodness – I have been wondering if was to early to start my 6 year old on some deodorant. I thought maybe she just wasn’t washing her “pits” well enough, so I helped one night – next day – same ol stink was back! She is sweaty like her Daddy! I hadn’t looked it up yet, but I think I will get some thing for her.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 26, 2012 @ 21:47:59

      Carrie, I was surprised when my daughter was stinky, too. Seems like such a boy thing! But, hey, catch me after the treadmill and no deodorant and stand back! Whew!

      Reply

  3. AKFrost
    May 01, 2012 @ 15:28:01

    Some parents think their children are fine with an “occasional” bath. But lets use common sense here! children are active all day long and get into a variety of things that give garlic and coffee a run for top of the line smell inducers. Children need to be bathed on a daily basis (prior to bedtime is a nice time to wind down and get relaxed for bed) and taught how to begin a regular healthy hygiene routine from head to toe. We as parents need to teach them how to care for their bodies, both inside and out, as well as how to dress in presentable clean cloths.
    Nothing is worse then seeing a parent who is all put together and tagging along a child in dirty, smelly, ill-fitting clothes.
    Now don’t get your feathers all ruffled on that one! we all know we can’t keep our children spot free 24-7, and no one blames a parent when a child comes in from a hard day of playing dirty from head to toe, but when I see the same child being dropped off to school with the same dirty, ill-fitting clothes, looking like they haven’t bathed in days one begins to wonder where the common sense is and maybe this parent needs a little help or more self awareness of how this is affecting their child.
    Children all mature both mentally and physically at different ages so I would not be surprised to know that a child would need deodorant at the age of six. There are deodorants that you can get through your doctor to help with this problem (they can also be used on the bottom of the feet for the same reason)
    There are alot of books out there to help with this topic, here is one example for boys but there are many more, and several for girls also.
    The Boy’s Body Book: Everything You Need to Know for Growing Up YOU
    by: Kelli Dunham

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      May 02, 2012 @ 11:48:45

      AKFrost, thanks for the tip on that book. I’ll have to go check it out. Yes, I constantly argue with my son about his pants. He wears ones that are way too short and we can’t seem to convince him this is not cool.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

