Solos and Sickos

My daughter jumped into my minivan earlier this week after school, super excited.

“MOM!!! Guess who got the solo in the school play?!” (Pause for effect.) “I’ll give you a hint… she’s in the car!!!!”

Can we tell she’s a little excited? I’m so proud of her. It’s great to see her completely jazzed up about something. When I told her I was proud of her, she said, “I’m proud of myself!” I think that’s awesome. Although, it was only a matter of minutes before she told me she was nervous and afraid she’d get what her brother referred to as “stair fright.” Stair, stage, it’s all the same. A little case of butterflies in the tummy is normal, I told her. Just so happy for her.

In other news, I got “the call” yesterday that my kindergartener was essentially a puddle of goo at school. He was feverish and sweaty and not feeling well at all. Oh, and strep throat is going around. When I arrived at the school, their description had been right-on. He just sat there, a mix of pale and pink. “Mommy, I don’t feel good.”

As we were leaving, his teacher pointed out his swollen glands. I’d been planning on doing the “wait and see approach.” Not after I checked his glands! His right one was so swollen, it felt like he’d shoved a whole walnut in there! $30, one hour and a strep test later, Strep throat it is…

We are home today, enjoying some mama and middle child time. We’re watching “Alvin and the Chipmunks: Chipwrecked.” Again. I should be happy, it’s only the second time in a 12 hour period. That’s not so bad.

I’m thinking we’ll get outside for some fresh air today. What things do you do with your kids when they are home sick? Any family traditions?

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 11:33:54

    UGH! Just took my 3 year old twins to the Dr. one has a double ear infection and bronchitis, the other just bronchitis…. Lots of extra cuddles, cartoons (don’t know how much more Dora I can handle) and throw in a few gummy bears they seem happy, gotta give some credit to the meds too 🙂

    Reply

  2. Leigh Anne
    Apr 20, 2012 @ 12:09:51

    My kids don’t get to stay home unless they have a fever or throwing up. My youngest, fever along with sore throat, and congested today. Our tradition….lots of rest, laying on the couch, and watching tv.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: To Quarantine or Share? « Mom Land

Leave a Reply

