Mommy’s Going on Vacation

I’m sitting at the airport in Portland. No kids. Just me and my honey. Can I tell you how weird this is? I keep feeling compelled to help other moms with their kids… As I write this I can hear the screams of a very unhappy baby in the ladies room.

My parents used to take us on family vacations as a kid, but they occasionally went off together too. I think that’s a good thing, though I remember thinking it was totally unfair then!

Moms and Dads- when was the last time you took a vacation without your kids? Where did you go? What did you do?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carrie
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 08:24:00

    3 years ago – my hubby and I got a week in Maui alone – then my parents joined us with our daughter for another week, then the three of us came home and they had a week of alone time. It was a great vacation and it might be time to do it again. With Grandma and Grandpa so close though, we do have more alone time than many parents. It is such a blessing.

    Reply

  2. Miranda
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 10:46:45

    Our last vacation without the kids was this past Feb. Hubby and I went to Vegas for 10 days. He had a conference then we took a few extra days for ourselves. We also take mini-vacations to (one or two nights) Alyeska once or twice a year. Not to go skiing or hiking. We enjoy the alone time and the couples massage is not bad either!

    Reply

  3. Taryn
    Apr 06, 2012 @ 05:09:55

    I’ll be going away for work next week, my first time away from Charlotte… while I know it’s going to be so hard for both of us, a part of me also looks forward to a few days of freedom when I dont have to wipe poopy butts or runny noses 🙂 Hope you enjoy your trip!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Mommy’s Getting Married! « Mom Land

Leave a Reply

