I Don’t Want You Playing With That Kid Anymore

I had really hoped to never have to use those words with my children. I believe every person was put here on this earth for a reason. Every person is a blessing from God. Having said that, I realize there are murderers and rapists out there. But, ideally, I’d like to think the best of people. That’s why it hurts me so much to tell my kids, “I don’t want you playing with that kid anymore.”

Remember the kid that explained, in some not-so-delicate terms, the birds and the bees to my two older kids? Yeah, well, he’s back. The other morning, as I was helping my kids get their tooth brushes ready, my six-year-old son was reading a book. He was talking about the villain in the story and said, “That’s because he’s a mother f#cking idiot.” Imagine my surprise.

“Excuse me? What did you say?” I asked, gently, assuming I had not heard him correctly.

“That guy is a mother f#cking idiot.” He repeated.

“What was that?” I asked again, in disbelief.

“I said he’s a mother f#cking idiot.”

I then proceeded to explain that those are not nice words and he should not use them again. I’m sure he didn’t know what he was saying, so he didn’t get punished. I did ask him, however, who taught him this new phrase. Yep, same kid that told him all about doing the nasty. Great.

The sitter and I had a long talk about this. She agreed the kids, including hers, were no longer allowed to play with this boy. Then, I called the school. I didn’t want to be “that mom,” but when your kid comes home sounding off like a sailor before he’s even had his Cheerios, it’s time for the authorities to step in. School authorities, that is.

The school says they’ve basically isolated this kid from the younger children. He’s not allowed to play with them at recess. He’s not allowed to stay on the playground after school. He’s been talked to. His parents have been talked to.

While it annoys me that this kid can’t keep his trap shut, I’m also finding myself feeling really sad for him. Something is obviously up in this kid’s life. Or, maybe he’s just 12.

My son is mad that he can’t play with this boy anymore. He claims he’s his best friend. Funny how they pull that “favorite” game when they’re not allowed to have something.

“Kids, looks like we’re all out of cabbage flavor ice cream.”

“What?! But that’s my favorite!”

Okay, that’s a stretch, but you get the drift.

Have any of you been “that kid” or are you the parent to “that kid?” How do you handle that?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 16:21:10

    The worst thing my six.year old has repeated from a classmate was damit which may not seem so.bad but we are a non cursing home so for us its bad..however we have new neighbors (and they are abnoxiously loud..4 kids and the mother has a mouth that would make a sailor blush..she scream curses at her kids and does not seem to care who hears…so my husband schooled her in how NOT to talk around our children.

    Reply

  2. Annette
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 10:04:56

    I think I have been on both sides you could say. Regarding the child repeating said words, we had a wonderful teacher help with explaining those words are “Adult Words” not Bad words because then if you say them than would infer you were bad. So my kids grew up not being allowed to use Adult words. They would even tell on each other or friends and neighbors. As for the child acting out .. I had a young boy at 12-13 doing the same thing. He was trying to get attention wherever he could… good or bad and since bad was easy, thats what he got. Until every time I had free time he went with me, fishing, camping, hiking, just the two of us. He just needed his time as a young boy turning into a teen to find where he fit in.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Apr 02, 2012 @ 14:03:42

      Annette, There’s just something about that age, 12-13. I used to teach high school and we occasionally taught middle school camps. The middle school kids were real jerks most of the time! It is a tough transitional age. Good for you for taking that initiative and having some one on one time.

      Reply

  3. erin
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 10:23:49

    She gave him a very dirty look, turned around went back in her apartment and slammed the door. Real mature right?? She better pray and hope she won’t have to deal with the Mama bear in me!! πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. pamela miller
    Apr 02, 2012 @ 15:01:02

    well back in the day i lived on a farm when suddenly my father died my mother was force,d to sell the farm we moved to the city i didnt know what any of those words meant but when i went home a repeated them i sure my face slapped my mother never told me the meaning of those words but i did find out from the kids at school i think if my mother would have just told me what they were and why i shouldnt use them i might have turned out diffrent but i found out that i couldnt talk to my mother about things like this for fear i,d get smacked accross the fase thank god i am diffrent these days and tought my children every thing my mother didnt teach me or could not find the time too which ever dont matter now but my children do know and i did learn olny in a diffrent way

    Reply

  5. Millie Taylor
    Jun 21, 2012 @ 13:13:10

    When my daughter was just 18 months old, she said her first curse word. Both hubby and I knew it would happen since we’re a fairly open language household. When she got a bit older (about three, maybe), we explained that those were strong words and shouldn’t be used lightly. We also told her that there were strong emotions and we would understand if one of those words slipped out, but she should realize that not everyone would understand her saying them. I grew up being told “Quit that _(*@# swearing!” Of course, I did it whenever I could because I was told not to. With our daughter, she understands what the words mean and why she shouldn’t just toss them around. She’s told her friends that have used them that there isn’t a reason to just say them. I think she’s learned well. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

