Slumber Party!

As we all know, it’s Spring Break. For most, this conjures up memories of drinking, bikinis and bad choices. Lets rewind this a bit to the grade school level. For elementary kids, Spring Break means playing with your friends, staying up late and sleeping in the next morning. Sometimes those things combine into the epic event of a slumber party.

My third grade daughter is having two girlfriends over tonight. Yes, I said two. Yes, I know I won’t be getting any sleep tonight. But, here’s the deal: they don’t get to sleep in. I have to work tomorrow, which means they’ll be getting up early with me. So, how do I pack the most fun in to the small window of time we have this evening?

Here’s my daughter’s list of ideas of things we can do tonight:

Go to the movies

Have a dance party

Sing along to music videos

Go sledding

Go to the park

Go to the pool

I’m sure there were others, but at this point in the list, I realized we’d never be able to get all these things accomplished in one night. This isn’t Hangover 3.

Here’s my challenge: come up with a plan to entertain & feed three girls ages 5 – 9 from the hours of 6pm until 7am, while still accounting for sleep. GO!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mae
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 15:32:27

    *PSH* Easy-
    Get a movie that has dancing and singing…. combined that with the dance party. Insert rootbeer floats, pjs and of course cookies and popcorn. Also have make-up and nail polish staged with in reach for when they are too tired to dance. (Make sure there is vodka in your rootbeer float) Have some super soakers loaded and ready to go with towels near by.
    They will have a blast.

    Reply

  2. Miranda
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 09:44:15

    I have done 2 sleepovers for my little girl(7) one on her birthday with nine,NINE of her friends. What was I thinking?!? It was actually a lot nicer then the one we did with 2 other girls… 3 is a hard number. All night 2 of the girls wanted to do something that left the other out. There were tears, lots of tears and hurt feelings.

    I always try and do something they picked out to do. Sledding and a movie at home. A couple of movies at home along with singing and dancing. I have great memories of my mom taking me and my girlfriends to the pool then coming home to do a movie then bed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

