Surviving the Two’s

My toddler is a funny little guy. Everyone comments on his happy little smile and the way he says “yep.” He is, by all accounts, an adorable two-year old. Having said that, any mother of a two-year old knows there is always more than what meets the eye. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a loving blessing. He’s also two.

This weekend began with an impromptu dinner party with a girlfriend of mine. I invited her and her two sons over for… geez, I can’t even remember what we fed those kids! Anyway, between my three and her two, it’s always an adventure. We like to measure our evenings by whether or not a child has been brought to the emergency room. The adventures have included such things as lost teeth (no really, they are lost for good) and a three-year old stinking of gasoline. So, when Friday night rolled around, we knew, as always, something would happen. And, it did. My youngest was attempting to get himself down from the dinner table. (We are well entrenched in the “I do it!” stage…) As he was getting himself down, he skipped the traditional exit and decided to slip out between the arm rests. One little problem: his head. Having given birth to this child (all nine pounds, all naturally) I can tell you, he’s got a big flipping head! He managed to slip his legs, torso and shoulders through the arm rest, but got stuck at his noggin. It took myself, my friend and her eight year old son to get him loose. That feat involved flipping the chair upside down while gently shaking him free. Uh, yeah…

Another day, another drama. This same loving two-year old of mine managed to get himself stuck again Saturday. This time, it began with a battle over the nap. He did not want anything to do with sleep. But, as a mother of three, I know darn well how important a nap is… for baby and mommy! I attempted, repeatedly, to get him to lay down. He attempted, repeatedly, to make me lose my patience by sneaking out of his room. Finally, I laid him down and shut the door behind myself. That’s where things got dicey. He is a crafty little child, let me tell you. Smart as a whip. He got back out of his bed, but instead of leaving his room, he simply locked the door. Herein lies the problem: my two-year old who is smart enough to lock himself in his bedroom is not quite able to realize he needs to reverse his actions in order to free himself. He found himself locked in there, crying. Luckily, my girlfriend (The Baby Whisperer) showed up to my house for a planned visit and between the two of us, her husband and a credit card, we got the boy out. Oh, and we promptly changed the locks so he can’t have a repeat performance!

I know people survive having toddlers. I have two older children as living proof. But, man! They are trying little creatures, aren’t they?!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EasyMemories4Life
    Mar 06, 2012 @ 19:19:53

    Be sure to get lots of video of him. Kids are so funny at that age! My wife and I have 5, and we all enjoy watching old videos, esp when they were two.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 07, 2012 @ 13:12:02

      Easy Memories, this poor boy is totally suffering from third child syndrome! I only have a couple actual printed pictures of him. Everything is digital these days!

      Reply

  2. Clarice U (@hunnyakaclarice)
    Mar 08, 2012 @ 12:14:21

    That reminds me of when my hubby went out to take out the trash I was just leaving a meeting and called him like usually “hey do you need anything on the way home?” He said, “Naw I should be fine…..AHH insert explicative here!!” Me: What happend? Him: I just got locked out the house. Of course I was across town this was in January and he had no coat on luckily mommy came to the rescue and was on her way over anyway with the spare key. Yep and he just turned two so there’s plenty more where that came from. He’s not 2 forever..He’s not 2 forever and repeat….

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 10, 2012 @ 10:56:23

      Clarice- that sucks! Good thing you came to the rescue! We left my mom home once with my youngest to go for a walk. We went out to dinner and when we came home, she’d been standing outside the whole time- locked out. I felt like a total a-hole.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

