Grade School Prison Trades

My third grade daughter was telling me yesterday about how some of her girlfriends owe her gum. She proceeded to list off a tally of which child owed how many sticks or packs. I asked her why they owed her gum. She explained it was basically trades for things or favors. It occurred to me this seemed awfully similar to another kind of trade-system: prison yards.

In prison, they trade cigarettes for various, uh, things. Instead of trading a pack of cigarettes for some contraband sent in from the outside world, or maybe a shiv, these kids are trading sticks of gum for a chance to be the first one to ride down the sledding hill or in exchange for a pretty colored pencil. Gum is the currency of elementary school, like cigarettes are the currency of prison. How’s that for an SAT comparison?

In other news…

My kindergartener had some weird allergic reaction the other night at the grocery store. He’s perfectly fine now, but it was odd. He was fine one minute and the next, his face was red and puffy in splotches and his lips looked so chapped they could bleed. It was strange. The only thing (beside the grocery cart itself) that he touched was a bunch of organic carrots.When we got home, I had him wash his face and hands and it appeared to get somewhat better, although he said his lips really burned. It wasn’t at an emergency level, by any means, but still alarming!

Anyone else have a similar experience?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Mar 05, 2012 @ 07:49:37

    That’s a little scary..I wonder what that could have been? Glad he’s ok now 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 09:45:12

    I have saesonal allergies which have developed into something the doctors call Oral Allergy Syndrome, where my body mistakes the proteins in the flesh of some fruits in vegetables for the pollens that I am allergic to. I first discovered this when I noticed I would get a rash from handling certain fruits and vegetables. I have a particularly severe form of it, but you might wanna wikipedia or wedMD it and look over the symptoms.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

