Congratulations! It’s a…. CAKE!

A girlfriend of mine had a little party the other night. There was food, friends and, of course, cake. But, it was the cake that the party was truly focused on. You see, the cake would tell my girlfriend and her husband and their families what they were expecting.

She’s five months pregnant. She had her ultrasound, but instead of begging the answer out of her ultrasound tech, she had them conceal the answer in an envelope and she delivered it to Cakes in Love, a local cake designer. The baker peeked in the envelope and created the cake you see in this picture. My friend picked it up and brought it to the party. The long-awaited answer of “Is it a boy or a girl?” was answered when they cut into the cake and found pink cake.

I guess “gender reveal” parties are pretty popular these days. USA Today wrote an article about it. I’m interested to hear what you all think about this practice. What do you think? Let them eat cake?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. erin
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 12:06:35

    I thinks it’s a pretty cool and fun idea! don’t know if it’s something I would do, only because I wouldn’t be able to wait, the suspense would kill me!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Teressa
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 12:56:34

    Haha, she brought that cake into the office yesterday =). Seems like everyone loved it. I’m so excited for them!

    Reply

  3. Gev
    Feb 24, 2012 @ 16:17:38

    My husband and I have discussed this idea,

    Mostly we’re thinking of not knowing the gender at all and doing gender neutral clothes. why? To save money for when we have other kids, I think for those who want to know the gender of their child this is a fantastic idea! This gets everyone excited and anxious. 🙂 Plus you automatically get diapers and toys, rather then newborn cloths that they’ll grow out of in the first year. lol

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Feb 24, 2012 @ 18:58:19

      Gev, interesting idea! But it’s a real pain in the butt to find gender neutral clothes these days!!

      Sent from my MOTOROLA ATRIX™ 2 on AT&T

      Reply

  4. kalleyc
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 03:44:13

    This is a great idea to reveal the gender of the expecting baby. I can just imagine how exciting it was.

    Reply

  5. Clarice U (@hunnyakaclarice)
    Feb 27, 2012 @ 09:13:55

    I was planning to do this with my next child I think it’s fun and a cool way to introduce the baby to their family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

