Beware Mommy Envy

New moms are jealous of moms with toddlers.

Moms with toddlers are jealous of moms with school aged kids.

Moms of school aged kids are jealous of moms with teenagers.

Moms with teenagers are jealous of moms with newborns.

Funny how that works, eh? Like most things in life, it seems the grass is always greener on the other side. We’re never happy with what we have or where we are in life. We spend minutes, hours and days dreaming about our future and miss the present.

Moms and Dads- be happy where you are now. Don’t blink. Before we know it, our newborns are walking and talking, our toddlers are going to school, our kindergarteners are graduating college and our graduates are making grandbabies. It goes so fast. Cherish your time. Live and love the present. Kiss your babies. Be thankful. Pray. Smile. Enjoy.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah Anderson
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 16:30:41

    When my daughter was an infant I couldn’t wait until she was a toddler. Now that she is (2), I never want her to grow up. She is now her own person and we can hold decent conversations between the two of us, but she’s still young enough that I’m her world. It could also be that she’ll be my only child and I know I can’t experience these stages again so I treasure every second.

    Reply

  2. erin
    Feb 16, 2012 @ 17:23:21

    I do cherish my time. When I was 15 I was told i wouldn’t be able to have kids, God has blessed me with a son and twin daughers, my son is 6 almost 7, and the twins are 3 I was that way with my son, but with the girls, I just want to sit back and cherish each milestone, and now that my son is in school it is enjoyable to see him flourish..love my little blessings 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

