Piss Poor Potty Training

This morning, I found myself wiping urine off my right foot. It wasn’t mine, despite the fact that I was the one sitting on the toilet.

My two-year old has been telling me a lot lately that he has to “potty.” He’ll rush to the toilet, pull down his pants and his pull up, stand there for a millisecond and then say “all done.”  Then, he rejoices in flushing the toilet.

Last night, his big brother and sister told me he’d gone potty at his daddy’s house. When we got home, he said he had to potty and pulled down his pants. Somehow, he’d already whipped it out and it was peeking over the top of his pull-up. We rushed to the potty. He stood there (we alternate between standing and sitting) without peeing and then said “all done,” flushed and went on his merry way.

This morning, he repeatedly told me he had to potty. We went to the bathroom and went through the routine. Nothing. We did this again a few minutes later. Nothing. Then, I sat down to go. He got that look in his eyes. I jumped up and yanked down his pants. The only problem… he was midstream. In my attempt to get it directed to the toilet bowl, urine covered my foot, the floor and pretty much everything in a two foot radius. And when I finally did get him to the toilet where he proceeded to stop peeing, can you guess what he said? Yep. “All done.”

Editor’s Note: Thanks to Baby Blues for the awesome comic!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Steven
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 13:35:13

    Just a minor suggestion: If you’re going to…let’s say “borrow” someone else’s comic for you blog, the least you could do is show a version where their trademark/copyright info is visible. Or at least a version where the text is legible.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Feb 10, 2012 @ 16:38:15

      Steven- I always struggle with that. I blew it up to the largest size. Baby Blues is too great to pass up!

      Reply

      • Steven
        Feb 10, 2012 @ 17:04:58

        I can understand that it seems too good to pass up, but I think it is a bit unfair to do it without giving the creator proper credit. You could include the trademark/copyright info in the blog entry itself and maybe even include a link to their website so that they at least get a little traffic out of it.

      • Mom Land
        Feb 11, 2012 @ 09:19:20

        Steven, I’ll see what I can do. Thanks for the tip.

        Sent from my MOTOROLA ATRIX™ 2 on AT&T

  2. Julie
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 14:42:46

    I am cracking up laughing! It reminds me of the movie “Daddy Day Care” where a little boy comes out of the bathroom and tells Eddie Murphy “I missed.” Murphy says, “What do you mean you missed?” The little boy replies “I…missed.” Murphy then goes into the bathroom and with a look of horror on his face starts looking around, to include at the walls and ceiling with the “Psycho” theme music playing in the background.

    BTW, my grandson peed on my daughter once or twice when she was sitting on the pot and he suddenly got the urge to “go.”

    Good luck!

    Reply

  3. erin
    Feb 10, 2012 @ 15:18:07

    Oh my! I guess I got lucky with the potty training thing, I had my son trained in about a week mind you I was (and still am) a stay at home mom, and he was my first so I had alot of time to dedicate to it, he was potty trained by 19 months, my 3 year old twins took a bit longer tho, about a 3 weeks before they were fully trained. for fom reason, flushing was a big thing for all of them and even tho we had really cool potty chairs for them they wanted to use the big potty. I also used skittles or M&m’s as a small reward when they used the potty. He’ll get there!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

