Hating the Highway

Driving the Glenn Highway is becoming increasingly frustrating. Wow. That’s a lot nicer than what I said about it in my head…

For those of you who don’t live in Alaska… the Glenn Highway is the one and only road from my community to the city of Anchorage. I have to drive it if I want to get to work. There is not another option.

Last night, we had a dusting of snow. It took me two hours to drive what normally takes me 45 minutes. This morning, the warmer weather had created black ice. It left some people in the ditch and had me showing up for work a half hour late.

The real trouble with the highway is day care. If you leave work at tad after 5 (like I did last night) and drive toward home, you have limited time to get to the day care on time. Many day cares charge $5 for every minute you are late. That adds up! Last night my kids were with my ex. Had it been my night, I’d have paid out the nose for that! And who is to blame, you might ask? The stupid highway.

You wanna know what else is annoying about traffic delays on the highway? Once you do get your kids, they are starving! And you are sitting there with a pack of hungry wolves in your minivan. And boy do they howl!

I feel slightly better now. Thanks for letting me vent. Yes, I do know what we consider traffic up here is miniscule compared to cities in the Lower 48. (I used to work in Chicago. I get it.)

Moms/Dads… any solutions to the woes of traffic, especially when there are kids involved?

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalleyc
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 14:12:34

    We don’t live in Alaska, but I remember my mom always being in the same boat right after she left work. My mom is a saint though, she always kept healthy snacks in the car (non-perishable) so that it can keep us tied over until dinner. No to mention quiet.

    Reply

  2. Colette
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 14:29:51

    Keep snacks in your car for such emergencies. Of course you’ll have to find something that fairs well when frozen. Drinks might have to be brought rather than stored. Just think if you had to wait for a tow truck with a hungry pack of wolves onboard? I have an emergency action packer with emergency supplies, just for days like today. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Tara
    Feb 02, 2012 @ 14:44:19

    I guess I’ve kept my old habits from when I lived there but w/tweaked it a bit once the kiddos came along…not do I only keep extra clothes (for myself & my boys), blankets, 1st aide kit, tissue, wipes & snacks; I’ve added coloring books, reading books, & portable games w/extra batteries. If they get “bored” they play w/any toys they left in the suv or stare out the windows…some days nothing works…

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 14:23:25

      Tara, Funny how those old Alaska ways seem to stay with you. I kept my moon boots in my car when I lived in the midwest, thanks to my Alaska roots…

      Reply

  4. Leigh Anne
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 10:38:00

    Try to remember to pack a healthy snack, so they don’t howl all the way home. A little bag of goldfish crackers or a healthy granola bar. I don’t know who you do daycare with, but a little compasion (on the daycare provider) goes a long way. I dont charge when the parents are late, as long as it is weather, work related, or they let me know in advance, things happen.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Feb 06, 2012 @ 14:24:05

      Leigh Anne, I bought a big old box of goldfish this weekend. Now, can you come up with a way they won’t get pulverized into the carpet of my minivan? 🙂

      Reply

  5. kelley
    Feb 07, 2012 @ 13:45:52

    We take little snacks with us wherever we go just encase we run I to the I am hungry monster on our trips. You may also try taking along games they can play depending on his close in age they are we have 5 kids ranging from 13everybody to 2I the older children have I pods and the middle 2 have v-smiles and the baby well she still sleeps

    Reply

Leave a Reply

