I’m Not Perfect

As the hours turn into days and the days turn into years, I am constantly reminded of one thing:

I am not perfect.

When I’m humbled at work or found wanton in some other aspect of my life, I have to recite those words again.

I am not perfect.

In no other part of my life is this more obvious than in my life as a Mommy.

Every day, there is something new and different to contend with. It’s an ever-changing job description. One day you’re changing diapers. The next day you’re kissing a boo-boo. Another day, you’re putting a kiddo in time out for doing something out of line. And, in every job you do, in every day you do it, you can find yourself second guessing what you did. Should I have put the child in timeout? Maybe that boo-boo needed a band-aid. Is there a better brand of diapers I could be using?

The more experience I have as a mother, the more I choose to not second guess myself. What’s the point?

Here’s what I’ll never second guess: I love my children with all my heart. They are wonderful little people. I am doing my best to raise them right. I’ll do anything to protect them. They are gifts from God.

I am not perfect. I may not bake cookies for them every day after school. I’m not buying them brand named clothes. I don’t volunteer at their school as much as I wish I could. Sometimes, I’m busy making dinner and don’t stop down long enough to play with them every night.  Sometimes, I raise my voice when I’m frustrated. Sometimes, we forget to pray before dinner. Sometimes, I’m “that mom” at Wal-Mart, standing over her child who is throwing a temper tantrum and telling them if they don’t behave, we are leaving right now.

I am not perfect. I don’t pretend to be. I don’t think I want to be.

My hope for you moms and dads is you’ll find support in reading these posts and in knowing you’re not alone in the daily struggles/joys/challenges/blessings of being a parent. Because, frankly, none of us is perfect. And if you think you are, just ask your child… they’ll be quick to point out your faults. 🙂

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Vicki Cromer
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 11:12:49

    My boys are all grown now, or so they think, 26, 25 and 18 and now I am raising other peoples kids, 15 and 17. I gave up second guessing myself a long time ago. Now i “go with the gut” It worked for my mom and my boys have grown to be great young men. Lately I find myself thinking,” because I said so” and “it’s my way or the highway”. I AM NOT PERFECT! and I’m happy with that.
    I love reading your posts, I get a kick out of you and your children and your daily thoughts. Thank you
    vicki

    Reply

  2. kalleyc
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 06:06:01

    Beautifully written! It’s so good for moms (and dads) to know that we are not alone in this crazy maze we call parenthood. Funny, once you’re in you’ll get out.

    It’s okay not being perfect. To me that means there is always more room to grow, and to learn, and to better understand. Besides, being perfect everyday brings way too much pressure on anyone, and who needs that?

    Reply

  3. kebibarra
    Jan 20, 2012 @ 15:22:49

    I love this! Great great post..

    Reply

  4. Tara
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 12:23:59

    Being a stay at home mom/wife, I’ve noticed that some people seem to automatically assume that your house is in perfect order, all the laundry, chores, etc, are done and dinner is ready and on the table as the kids/spouse gets home. NOT. When I was working full time and taking care of the hubby, kids, house…I was always worried that everything had to be perfect even then.

    Then my mother in law said something that has stuck with me, “It’ll still be there after I die, so why fuss over it all at once.” (Yes, I am very blessed to get along very well with my mother in law.) I threw out all the “to do” lists & tell myself everyday that if it gets done it gets done, if it doesn’t, then, oh well, I’ll do it later. Now don’t get me wrong, when we are expecting company, I hustle & do clean up whatever will be seen by people. (So, there is a lot of hiding things in closets & closed bedrooms.)

    I’d rather color on the floor with my 5 yr old than worry about folding a load of laundry that is in the dryer. It’s still going to be there after they go to bed so I can fold it then or even the next day.

    I figure why stress yourself on something that may never be achieved. The definition of “perfect” is different to everyone. Screw trying to be perfect for others, I like my way of being perfect.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

