Sick Day

I warn you now, this post is going to be a little bit all over the place.

I am working from home today. Yesterday I got the call from not one but two of my kids’ schools saying I needed to come get my kids. First, it was my nine-year old daughter. She had a tummy ache, sore throat and a headache. No fever. Apparently, the flu is going around the school. After a couple of hours hanging out at her Aunt’s house and eating chicken nuggets, she seemed to be much better. Until, of course, she saw me. Then, it was the tears and “Mama, I don’t feel good!” line. We had a long talk this morning and she was off to school. We’ll see how long that lasts.

The other call was from the day care. The baby (yeah, yeah, I’ll stop calling him that soon enough) had a 101 fever and was not feeling well. So, I picked up my daughter from her Aunt’s in Anchorage, then drove back to Eagle River for the baby. Lots of driving yesterday. The baby was miserable. He was just laying there on a cot when I picked him up. Burning up. Not feeling well at all. I got all the kids home. The baby just sat in my lap, half out of it, for the rest of the night. He is feeling much better this morning (except for the part where he took off his diaper and crapped on the floor) and probably could have gone to day care, if it weren’t for the whole you-can’t-take-them-back-for-24-hours-after-a-fever thing.

Have you ever tried to work on a project at home, or talk to a co-worker about a project, while wrangling a poo-covered toddler? Um yeah.

On another note… my daughter and I got into it this morning over breakfast cereal. Here are the two options:

You’ll note- THEY ARE THE SAME DAMNED THING!

The purple box on the left is older. It’s opened. There is a handful of cereal left in it.

The yellow box on the right is newer. It’s unopened. It’s the one my daughter insisted on having. The following is the ensuing conversation/debate we had regarding the two boxes in question:

Her: “I want this one.” (referring to the box on the right.)

Me: “Lets finish off this one first.” (referring to the box on the left.)

Her: “But I want SHREDDED Wheat!”

Me: “They’re BOTH shredded wheat.”

Her: “NO! This one is shredded wheat!” (referring to the box on the right.)

Me: “Baby, they are the same thing. They just updated their packaging.”

Her: “I like the picture on this one better.” (referring to the box on the right.)

Me: Laughing. Huh. I am in marketing now. I guess I should appreciate this….

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Liz L.
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 11:10:59

    I have to side with your nine-year old on the cereal debate. Totally something I would do.

    Reply

  2. erin
    Jan 06, 2012 @ 11:28:45

    Oh my…You have had a productive 24 hours!! 🙂 this too shall pass..(no pun intended) 😉 Hope your day gets better

    Reply

Leave a Reply

