You’ll Shoot Your Eye Out!

As our minds are still fresh with the memories of “A Christmas Story” and the dangers of a bb gun… we enter New Year’s eve. In fact, as I write this, a Gorilla Fireworks ad is playing in the background telling me to have a blast. Last year, we did have a blast. We took advantage of the city’s one-night hiatus on the firework ban and lit off a few at our house.
I’m always a little nervous with fireworks… several years ago, my brother in law literally shot his eye out with a bottle rocket. It was with great caution that I handed my kids sparklers last year. Sparklers.
Are you planning on lighting things up tonight with your kids?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kebibarra
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 14:08:39

    I’m with you. Sparklers all the way.

    Reply

  2. erin lewis
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 17:01:21

    I am not a big fan of fireworks an anquaintance was lighting a roman candle one year and the fire balls came out the wrong end and burned her arm. ill stick to the sparklers and the little poppers that they throw on the ground. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kara
    Jan 01, 2012 @ 00:16:38

    I have never been comfortable around fireworks, not sure why, but last year we had an “incident” where the supposedly stable can in the driveway being used to launch the fireworks from tipped over and shot at my car, my dog, and my porch – where I just happened to be standing with my oldest kiddo. Minor singing to her jacket, a couple minor burns through my jacket and shirt to the skin underneath, but the darn thing exploded in my ear – I pulled little burned bits of paper out of my ear for days… I already had hearing loss in that ear but now it’s a million times worse. They terrify me, but my kids LOVE them, especially the sparklers. And honestly, the sparklers are the worst for me because I am handing over a flaming stick of explosive material to a 5 yr old. Yeah, doesn’t sit well with me at all. Much as I hated to spend New Year’s Eve home while Randy is working, I’m really glad he wasn’t here because he loves to play with fireworks even more than the kids do. Ugh. The kids and I watched the display at the lake earlier tonight from the warmth and safety of our car, 3 parking lots away from the action. MUCH better than doing them myself at home 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

