Weird World of the Web

My nine-year old daughter called me yesterday, asking for my email address. She was signing up for some website called Monkey Quest. The last one had to do with penguins. Now monkeys. “It’s just $5 a month Mom!” Um… no. Free trial it is.

Do you let your kids do these websites? From what I can tell, its games and places where you can build your own character. All these things freak me out as a potential gathering place for pedophiles.

About a year ago, my daughter said she wanted a Facebook page. She’s 9. Not happening.

Do you let your kids on these internet kids game sites? What about social media?

Oh… and one last note while we’re talking about the world-wide web… never ever google image search “cancer” or “perky red-headed actress.” Trust me.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cortney Hunt
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 12:18:29

    We let our 9 yr old play Wizard 101 and Math Blaster!!! she too wanted a FB not even gonna happen.. It’s scary I agree

    Reply

  2. Clarice U (@hunnyakaclarice)
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 12:57:12

    yeah….so I didn’t trust you…I was always that one kid that did the opposite of what teachers asked…and let’s just say I almost lost the lunch I never ate…yet. Perky red headed actress wasn’t bad at all as for the cancer…..another story..

    Reply

  3. kalleyc
    Dec 29, 2011 @ 13:32:11

    I learned my lesson about Googling images (especially when I have been warned), I will try to not do it again.

    My daughter is still 2 but I know there are online games that are catered to her. I am not interested in having her involved in it. As for older kids, I would be afraid as well.

    Reply

  4. Piet
    Dec 30, 2011 @ 17:09:22

    In our house we go by facebook rules….
    “You will not use Facebook if you are under 13”
    So my daughter is itching to use her facebook account, (We set one up for her so she could use KhanAcadamy.) but she can’t use it till she turns 13. So until April she can’t use Facebook. 🙂

    As for online games…
    Our two youngest are heavily into http://www.roblox.com which is just a free version of online legos. 😀 There is a pay version of it, but they don’t need it to play it. There are also several other online gaming sites, but you really need to watch the kids playing them. I’ve encountered several of those “game” sites which try to load extra stuff onto the computer which is either spyware/trojan/ or viruses.

    Another idea is to let them download BigFish Games onto their computer. #1 they’re Virus/spyware free. #2 there is a variety of games at bigfishgames.com. The downside is that they’re only an hour trial per game. IF you do like a game for the kids… they’re cheap games… $6.99 per game.

    Reply

  5. Me a Mom at Home
    Dec 31, 2011 @ 22:11:09

    When it was only desktops you could keep it in the living room to keep an eye but now with the laptops , pads, smartphone it is becoming hard to keep track of what your children does on there. Mine is only 4 but I wonder how much scarier it is going to get by the time she is 12.

    Reply

  6. Jenn Miller
    Jan 25, 2012 @ 13:34:12

    All 4 of my kids (ages3-13) love to play moshi monsters online. My oldest has a facebook account, with the stipulation what I have access to it whenever I want. She is mature for her age so I really don’t worry about her on facebook (she plays games on facebook).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

