Christmas Eve Traditions : The New American Family

In years past, Christmas eve has meant going to midnight mass, leaving cookies out for Santa, getting to open one present before bed and then frantically wrapping presents before the kids wake up in a few short hours.

This year, I’m sharing time with my kids. My ex has them today. I get them after church tonight. In place of sitting around, sadly missing my kiddos, I’m going to my boyfriend’s brother’s house to meet his nieces. Then, we’re going to dinner at his ex’s to see his youngest son. After that, we’ll go to church where I’ll get to see my kids… and my ex and his girlfriend.

Christmas eve is getting a new round of traditions thanks to divorce and custody calendars. One thing remains the same (beyond the love for my kids and celebrating the birth of baby Jesus) — I’ll still be up late wrapping presents.

What Christmas eve traditions are you looking forward to?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KalleyC
    Dec 25, 2011 @ 06:30:29

    I’m looking forward to the tradition when my kids can cook the whole thing. But speaking of right now, its the waking up early in the morning. Seeeing my daughter still in her PJ’s opening up her Christmas presents. To me that is priceless.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

