Hiring a Sitter: Paying the Teenage Wage

What is the going rate for a babysitter these days? My cousin’s teenage daughter has been staying at my house since Sunday night, watching my two older children while I work. The baby is still at day care, since I’m paying that bill already. The big kids don’t have school and needed supervision. No, leaving them home alone is not an option, despite what they might think…

So, my teenage cousin and her friend have been there, watching my two big kids, from 7:30am until 6pm Monday through Thursday. What’s the going rate for that?

The gig is pretty sweet, if you think about it. You get to stay in your pajamas, watch cartoons, do your homework, eat whatever junk food you can find, surf the internet and play with two awesome kids all day. And get paid for it. Did I mention you get to stay in your jammies?

I’ve gotta pay these teens tonight. I’m curious: what are you paying your sitters?

 

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jill M
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 09:36:20

    I pay mine about 6.00 an hour for my two younger children. Its certainly a lot more than the 2.00 an hour I got when I was a kid but I can’t seem to find one when I need one unless I pay them well 🙂

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 09:50:30

    I usually got paid about 30-40 a day for 2 kids depending on ages and the child itself thats for about a 10-10.5 hr shift

    Reply

  3. Heidi
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:02:02

    I pay 10 to 12 for my 3 kids. Your range is probably 6 to 8. If your kids are older, you can probably get by with 6.

    Reply

  4. Roe
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:14:38

    Babysitting is the hardest job! They are pretty much parents for those couple hours….sounds easy BUT it’s not! Pay them good. I always pay my niece 20$/day it’s way cheaper then going to daycare:)))

    Reply

  5. Emily
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 10:45:58

    Wow, I pay my sitter $10/hr to watch my 3 year old son. That was pretty typical among everyone we knew when we lived in WA. For a circumstance like that where it’s all day -multiple days I’d think you’d have to work out a “bulk” rate 🙂

    Reply

  6. LL
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:35:18

    Looks like daycare varies greatly by area as well as not knowing the full extent of the job. I think you should factor in the sitting expectation. Is this just general sitting they are just there to make sure the house is not burned down & general supervision or emergency? Or are they expected to provide meals, entertain with activities, games,ensure chores are done(if applicable)? If general sitting is all that is is required and kids are fairly self sufficient and low maintenance then 1/4 of what a day/aftercare would charge seems fair. if your expecting sitting and care meals/entertaining etc then I would say 1/2 the local rate would be fair. If kids really like them and you want to be able to retain for on call purposes when you want a girls night out or have a function to attend, then maybe a little bonus.

    Reply

  7. Lisa
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 09:03:52

    I tell my teen to do what I did when I used to sit. She tells them to pay what they can afford. 9 times out of 10, she gets paid better that way.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

