What’s Under the Tree?

I went shopping yesterday. My first Christmas shopping of the season. Just 10 days from Christmas. Um, yeah. I went with a coworker on our lunch break, thinking, for some reason, that there would be smaller crowds. We were wrong.

Hordes of parents packed the dollar aisle at Target, clamoring for Mickey Mouse socks, Slinkies and ridiculous outfits for the family dog. I went in thinking I’d spend maybe $100. I was wrong on that one, too.

I stared into the sea of consumerism, at the waves of shoppers, frantic to find that special toy on their child’s Christmas list. I dove in.

My daughter is scoring some cute slippers. My kindergartener is getting a fun put-it-together-yourself Bumble Bee from Transformers. My toddler is getting a pint-sized etch-a-sketch. Somehow, by the time I walked out of the store, I’d managed to spend over $200. How does that happen?!

Here’s my litany of questions for you all:

How much do you spend on your kids at Christmas?

How many gifts do you give, per child? (We started the three-gift-thing a few years ago. It was good enough for Jesus!)

Do you only buy them the gifts they asked for on their Christmas list?

Who brings the gift they really wanted? Mom and Dad or Santa?

 

Okay… go!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 18:26:01

    We have three kids, and we try to get them each one big gift (something they were really wanting, dora dolls, and ANYTHING Toy Story), then we get a bunch of small enexpensive things like crayons, coloring books, books, glow sticks (what kid dosen’t like those right?) and wrap each thing so they feel like they got alot. Our son is 6 and we have 3 year old twins so right now they are super easy to buy for, and since times are tight that makes it really nice πŸ™‚ Oh and they always get a new pair of jammis πŸ™‚ We do the gifts, we have taught our kids santa is just a fun story but he isn’t real, They know the meaning of Christmas, and why we celebrate. Merry Christmas!!!!!!!

    Reply

  2. Leigh Anne
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 18:39:08

    I have 2 teenagers and 1 still young enough that she is easy to buy for. I think I went overboard this year, I spent right around 500.00 for all 3. The older they get the more expensive the toys and clothes. We buy mostly of their list, they do get a few things they don’t ask for. Every year they get an ornament, of their own, these ornaments will go with them when they move out on their own.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Dec 16, 2011 @ 20:32:36

      Leigh Anne, I super suck at crafts but did a really neat ornament last year for each kid. A mom saw me standing clueless at Michaels and walked me through it. Very neat. As for the older kids, um, yeah! Stupid brand names… expensive!

      Reply

  3. Kim
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 19:12:21

    Well I guess I’m not a fun Mom because we don’t do the Santa thing or any other fairy, bunny thing for the holidays and Jesus is the reason for Christmas. I am a Black Friday shopper and bought my boys new bedspread (Toy Story & Cars), clothes and socks. My daughter is getting out of the baby stage so I had to buy her “big” girl toys like my little pony but you better believe even on Black Friday I had a coupon for EVERYTHING!! I try to spend $100 on each kid including one big present for all of them, socks and stuff they could use and let their grandparents & uncles be the “fun” ones and get them something they want. I find the $1 things is where your money truly adds up.I buy practical gifts for my kids because honestly everything is over priced and made in China. Merry Christmas πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. Annie
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 19:44:44

    We do three gifts too, or actually 4 since this year I will be giving a small one on epiphany too. In our house Santa is fake but St. Nicholas comes on his day and he is *obviously* real. I went a little overboard this year for my son’s (3 1/2) gift. Some relatives gave me money for his gift so I pooled what I had planned on spending and he is getting a huge Plan Toys City Station with some rail and road sets to go with it. He will also be getting the playskool version of the transformer’s bumble bee since it is the only thing he has actually asked for. I didn’t bother shopping much for my 14 month old but she will be getting a hand-me-down play house that we were given recently.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Dec 16, 2011 @ 20:28:48

      Annie, You gotta love when they’re small and don’t know it’s a hand me down gift. I found an awesome Craigslist buy for my toddler.

      ________________________________

      Reply

  5. Lisa
    Dec 23, 2011 @ 08:48:42

    Before I comment, no hating…ok? We are big “no” parents. Throughout the year, when they want stuff, the answer is 99.9% of the time “no”. So, when Christmas rolls around, we tend to go overboard with the stuff that they have repeatedly been eyeing for a whole year. It works for us. This year overboard is an understatement! Teens are definitely more expensive to shop for, but add to that a husband who LOVES electronics and it’s a little crazy. I won’t even tell you how much we spent this year as it’s entirely too embarassing. The thing that makes me feel a little better is that this year we gave a lot outside our family too. More than any other year. I wish bandaids in stockings was still an option!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

