From Both Ends

I’ve given these warnings before… but I really mean it this time…

IF YOU HAVE A WEAK STOMACH, DON’T READ ANY FURTHER.

There. You’ve had your warning.

Yesterday was a long, long day with no power, no lights and no running water. That last bit is note-worthy, as my middle son had some tummy issues. The runs with no flushing toilet is a bad thing.  Thankfully, the power was on again last night, as my youngest seemed to have picked up the tummy bug. I experienced what can only be described as “poop soup” coming from all ends of his diaper. No fun for anyone.

Thank God the water and lights work today. We got home from dinner with a friend. The baby was asleep. He woke up crying. I went to grab him. We made it to the kitchen when he started throwing up. All over himself. All over me. All over my work clothes. All over my hair. I can also thank God my mother was here to help undress us. We took a bath. (My toddler and I, not me and my mother.) I laid him in bed. He’s been in there, throwing up ever since.

So, moms and dads… what are your proven methods to making little tummies feel better? How do you help a toddler understand these violent vomit episodes? Until I hear from you all… I’ll be rubbing his little back and telling him soothing thoughts…. in three-minute intervals.

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 08:26:36

    Oh no! Prayers for your little guy. Pedialite and pedialite ice pops.

    Reply

  2. Erin
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 20:12:22

    yep Pedialite works great, and the store brand stuff is much cheaper, and works just the same 🙂 Also ginger ale and saltine crackers (if he will eat),

    Reply

  3. Gina
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 20:12:44

    To help relieve the constant throwing up my grandmother taught me this one. Take warm water and mix in maple syrup. This concoction will clean the impurities out of your little one’s stomach and it works wonders. Also make sure your kids get plenty of hydration during this sickness!

    Reply

  4. Kristal
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 20:41:11

    How sad! Are the older two feeling better?

    I remember a “both ends” episode when my daughter was younger. My best advice, let them know its okay and they are safe. Let them know it’ll pass and you’re here for them. Push fluids as much as you can. Also plain crackers or dry toast. Hope it passes quickly!

    K

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Dec 14, 2011 @ 22:50:37

      Kristal, Well…. the baby stopped throwing up, but it’s just the other end. My middle son has it both ends now. My daughter seems to have missed this one. Lets hope!

      Reply

  5. Heather Swanson
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 21:55:49

    Little Tummies! (Works great for adults too!!) Hope he feels better soon!

    Reply

  6. Scott
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 22:24:04

    Seep caraway seeds for ten minutes drain n cool. A few sips calms the tummy. Last about five days. Call me for more details 229dash four four two zero

    Reply

  7. aktoro
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 00:13:55

    I once spent 3 weeks camping on the floor with each of my 3 children. Each new week brought a new child with the stomach flu. I camped on the main floor close to a bathroom and out of hearing range as to not wake everyone in the house. One night was particularly rough. I had just spent 2 weeks on the floor and thought I might be able to return upstairs to a real bed when the 3rd child woke up screaming something about getting sick. It was too late…as I rushed her to the toilet, it happened. Worse than Linda Blair, a spew so bad came exploding out both ends of child. At 3am, I was so stunned I didn’t know what end to try and catch. Running to toilet only made it worse… we sprayed a toxic mess like a graffiti artist on a newly painted wall.

    I spent the next 3 hours disinfecting. My wife came down around 6am as I was finishing up and said, “Up early?”

    Reply

  8. Uwe
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 17:09:01

    I have realized that unless you leave a glowing comment for the blogger your comment gets deleted :-(… I thought this was an open forum?
    Ummm…. I wonder how many posts have been deleted due to this blogger not approving…….
    I guess I shall have to find a more open and honest blogger.

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Dec 15, 2011 @ 18:17:46

      Uwe, Yep. You caught me. Yours was the one and only comment I have ever deleted. Honestly, I took it down because life is hard enough without having to hear other people complain about my work. I write this blog because it’s a great way to share fun/sick/awesome stories about my three kids. It’s a place where I can be honest about what it’s like being a single mother of three. I’m sorry if you don’t like to read it. Feel free to stop.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

