Oh Crap. I’m Turning Into My Mother!

There have been signs of this for a while now. Every so often, something happens and I can hear my mother speaking through me. Little phrases she would say to me as a child that I vowed, VOWED, never to repeat to my children. And yet, here I am. Lets see… what are some of my favorite hated sayings? Shall I list them?

“It’s okay if you don’t like me. I’m your mother. You don’t have to like me.” Usually said after I said I hated her.

“I trust you to do the right thing.” Often said when I was a teenager and headed to a friend’s house. Guilt is effective.

“Pretty is as pretty does.” Repeated to me as a child to make sure I wouldn’t behave like a brat. Appeal to my vanity mom!

But today’s next step in my gradual transformation into my mother was the repeat of an act she used to do when we wouldn’t clean to her standards. She’d tell us to clean our rooms. We would. Then, when she’d come to inspect, if it wasn’t clean enough, she’d dump the contents of our dressers on our floors. Never understood that one.

Tonight before dinner, I kept asking the kids to clear the table so I could bring the food out. They ignored me. You know, in that way makes you wonder if they’re deaf only to your voice. I made the request again. Still nothing. So, I brought the food to the table anyway. And that’s when it happened. The switch flipped. Momentarily, I was my mother, circa 1980 something. I scooped up all the papers (homework) they had strewn over the table and oh-so dramatically, dumped it all on the floor. And you know what? It felt good. Sick, I know. But, it did. My daughter immediately jumped up and started gathering the papers. My son crawled under the table and started sobbing, saying I’d ruined his homework, which I hadn’t. I think the thing that freaks me out the most about my reaction is how calm I was. I didn’t go into “Scary Mom” mode. I didn’t yell. I just dropped the papers on the ground, sat down, and started saying grace. I think that’s the part that freaked my kids out, too.

I’m pretty cautious about not saying the same things my mom and dad said to me as a child. Excluding “I love you,” of course. Don’t get me wrong. My parents are great. They raised three kids. But, there’s always some hangups from your childhood. I’m sure even the Cosby kids could see a shrink about how their Dad always wore these awful sweaters…

Don’t leave me hanging here, people. Tell me some of your best “turning into your parents” moments. My running favorite is still when I caught my brother telling his daughter to “quit your crying or I’ll give you something to cry about.” Oh man. I think I actually said “Dad, is that you?”

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peggy
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 07:27:19

    My dad used to say that “stop crying or I’ll give you something to cry about” line. I never understood it as a child because to me, I was already crying about something. Now, as a parent, I totally understand that one. I don’t use it on my kids though because to them, they’re already crying about something.

    Reply

  2. Lisa
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 02:45:50

    I don’t remember much about my childhood (pretty sure I’ve blocked most of it out and could really use a shrink myself!) Although I do know this week some crazy stuff came out of my mouth at work. I just hope these are things that do not get repeated to parents!
    We’ve been learning about manners, and one little guy upon entering the classroom in the morning looked at me and said, “Wassssup?” I said, “Goodmorning.” He made some sort of sign with his fingers and said, “Wasssssup?” I said, “We use GOOD manners, NOT ghetto manners. Say goodmorning!” I should get teacher of the year for that I’m sure.
    The other was in the play area. Crying was heard coming from up in the tubes, and all the way down the slide. I waited at the bottom of the slide to see one of my preschoolers on his stomach with a Kindergartener and another preschooler sitting on his back! The child was crying and holding his head. I sternly told the other two boys, “We DO NOT ride other people down the slide!!” Timeouts were given and all was forgiven, but man, what is in the water this week?!?
    Oh, and the whole “Hottie” thing that the baby says, hilarious. Does she think it’s cute or does she hate it?

    Reply

  3. Mom Land
    Nov 04, 2011 @ 05:19:10

    She thinks it’s adorable. She loves her baby brother… and the other brother too. 🙂

    Reply

  4. creativecat33
    Jul 13, 2012 @ 13:01:47

    that is a Hilarius story. That mom tantrum freak out your kids enough for brake their depth pattern behavior. I agree with you I think they have some switch in their brain for ignore our voice. lol

    Reply

  5. creativecat33
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 19:31:22

    according to my doctor he called “selective hearing” I literally took my son to the doctor and that is what he said.. now I use notes and works better 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

