The Tooth Fairy Saga Continues

So yeah… remember the other day when I said my daughter busted me over the Tooth Fairy? I ended the post with an update, saying my daughter lost another tooth and all went well? Yeah… I may have spoken too soon.

When my daughter lost this latest tooth, she started talking about the Tooth Fairy coming to visit. I thought this meant all was well after she busted me the other night. But then, she and my son were talking about how much the fairy brings.

My kindergartener says “Oh, wow. What if you lost two teeth? You’d get four dollars!”

“Wait,” I say. “You mean the Tooth Fairy brought you two dollars for your last tooth?!” I was in a bit of shock. They’d been visiting their Dad at his house when the Tooth Fairy came last. I was taken aback that he’d be giving that much. We typically stick to a buck. But, not to rock the boat, the Tooth Fairy brought two dollars that night to my house.

The next morning, the kids were all excited to see what was left under the pillow. Then they called their dad to tell him all about it. I could hear the surprise in his voice when he heard our daughter say she got two dollars. He asked to speak to me:

‘Two dollars?! For a tooth? Geez!” He said.

“Well, that’s how much they said they got at your house last time,” I explained.

Through his laughter, he says “They played you. You got played. The Tooth Fairy only leaves a dollar at my house.”

So, yes. My children totally scammed me. Thanks, kids. I’m on to you… They’re only in elementary school! I’m screwed when they’re teenagers.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 09:00:18

    So I guess you’ll be communicating more with your ex. You could also think of this as a warning and be more prepared for it in the future 🙂

    Reply

  2. KalleyC
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 12:58:54

    OMG, these kids are good. To think it’s only the beginning too.

    Reply

  3. All on Four Chicago Loop
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 13:51:24

    Kids nowadays are very smart and I think you have to be very careful with them. Maybe you should communicate with your husband so that the kids will not be able to scam you next time. Like KalleyC has mentioned it is only the beginning….

    Reply

  4. Cortney Hunt
    Nov 02, 2011 @ 03:16:54

    I love this!!!! haha

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Bloody Persistence « Mom Land

Leave a Reply

