Busted!

The other night, I had the mini safe out and was scanning some important documents, when my daughter walked in. She was fascinated with the scanner and wanted to help. Ooh, Mommy-Daughter bonding time! This sounded like it could be a nice chance for the girls to catch up. Well, we all know what happens when I have a “Brilliant Mom Idea.” It always ends up bad.

Everything was going fine at first. That’s usually how it works. Anyway, she was putting a paper back for me in the safe, when she emerged with a little plastic bag. It had writing on it. It had her name, a date and the word’s “second tooth” written on it. Inside the baggie was that same tooth.

There was a pause as her brain worked through the scenario: “Mommy, why do you have my lost tooth? Shouldn’t the Tooth Fairy have it?”

Crap. Crap. Crap. What do I say? Think, brain, think!!!! “Ummmm…” I begin.

“I think I know what’s going on,” my daughter interrupts.

Shit. Shit. Shit. She’s on to me. “Oh, yeah?” I ask.

“Yeah, I think you wanted to keep my tooth for yourself!” She exclaims.

Thank you, God. “Baby girl,” I tease, “are you accusing me of stealing from the tooth fairy?”

We laugh. I hide the tooth and the bags of other teeth she hasn’t spotted yet. I put the mini safe away. Busted for the day, but I think the overall guise is still intact. Whew.

 

EDITOR’S NOTE: After writing this post, my daughter has since lost another tooth. She put it under her pillow. The tooth fairy came, as usual. No mention of the prior incident.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Gina Romero
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 01:02:04

    Love it! I will prepare for when my daughter is that age.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: The Tooth Fairy Saga Continues « Mom Land

Leave a Reply

