Mr. Potato Head

I cleaned out my car last night. This is of note. You should write this down somewhere on a calendar or in a record book. Now, let’s not get too out of control. I didn’t vacuum it or “clean-clean” it, per say. But, I did pick all the crap up off the floor. Mainly trash and those stupid little junk toys that found their way into the trash. This is all just background to what I’m about to tell you.

This morning, while dropping my kids off at their before school care place (a mom who lives near the school,) my kindergartener gave me a little gift. He pulled from his pocket a potato. A red potato. A smallish one. He said it was for me. I imagine he picked it on their field trip to the farm a couple of weeks ago. Either that, or he pocketed it at Fred Meyer the day before. Lets go with he picked it.

Had my car not been cleaned just the night before, I would have assumed he found it somewhere on the floor… in the filthy pit I call my minivan. But no. He pulled this, clear as day, from his coat pocket.

Now, folks, some of you are reading this and thinking “Oh, that’s not such a big deal! Once my kid had a (insert bizarre item here) in his/her pocket!” I can recall finding a pocket full of rocks in my children’s coats. Heck, I filled my own pockets up with tree frogs once when we lived in Texas. Usually, we’re not lucky enough to find said items until they’ve been through the wash. (Ever try getting washed diaper out of your washing machine? It’s a real pain in the butt.)

So, here’s your chance to go public. Fill in the blanks: “Oh, that’s not such a big deal! Once my kid had a (insert bizarre item here) in his/her pocket!” I’d love to see what kind of horror stories you all come up with!

Oh, and one last note. We ate the potato for dinner.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christy Cresap
    Dec 21, 2011 @ 14:44:35

    Love this post. 🙂

    When my oldest daughter was 2 1/2, one of her friends gave her a squash that looked just like a big egg. She loved it. I ended up loving this experience. We strapped it into a seatbelt when we went in the car. We tucked it in next to her at night. We showered with it, combed our hair next to it, ate at the table with it in it’s own chair, took it for walks, she sat on it and said a mountain lion was going to hatch out of it. Then we through it away when it got squishy. She’s got an awesome imagination, but she’s also a realist like her mama. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

