Feed Me, Seymour!

Remember that classic movie “Little Shop of Horrors?” The plant always wanted to be fed. He demanded to be fed. He got a little scary when he wasn’t fed. Yeah… that pretty much sums up the demeanor of my toddler these days. I pick him up from day care and he cries. All. The. Way. Home. I thought, at first, it was a separation anxiety thing. And, I’m sure it is partially that. But, I’ve noticed he stops crying once he gets some food in him. It’s the preparation of the food that he can’t seem to wait for.

This past week, while he’s cried/sobbed/screamed, I’ve rushed around in the kitchen trying to make dinner as fast as humanly possible. The other night, I made two meals so the next night I’d only have to deal with a screaming banshee while I microwaved our dinner. I’m not sure there’s been a day that I’ve even gotten my jacket off!

I’ve tried bribing him with snacks. I’ve laid out fruit, cheese, juice and milk. This does not make him happy, but it does slightly muffle the screaming sounds as he shoves the snacks down his gullet.

What can I do to keep him content/quiet while I make dinner? The big kids are more than happy to go play or color. The toddler? Not so much.

Help! I’m just about ready to offer a human sacrifice…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Piet van Weel
    Oct 08, 2011 @ 18:29:37

    I was just the same way when I was younger…

    What my dad discovered was that I couldn’t make it from 12PM till 6PM without having a big snack around 3ish… It was usually something simple like a PB&H or PB&J sandwich and a glass of OJ, but that was enough to carry me to dinner time. Having that snack off set my hunger enough to be civilized till dinner….

    So you may want to ask your daycare provider what they’re giving for snack and IF he’s eating all of it. Chances are he’s completely demolishing the food. If he is then it’s probably taking the edge off, but not really taking care of the actual hunger. Try asking them to give him seconds, OR you may think about giving him your bribes just before you drive away in the car but while he’s buckled in. He’ll probably happily eat the food not realizing that he’s taking the edge off his hunger and giving his wonderful mom the space and time she needs to make dinner.

    Reply

  2. Tara
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 18:16:31

    I have the same problem with my 4 yr old… he is so busy playing (he’s a very high energy kid) that he cannot be bothered with eating at school and then as soon as we get home he’s a monterous disaster of emotions, all bcz he’s hungry… I had to work really hard with daycare to make sure he was eating his breakfast and lunch and snack at school. ensuring that happened helped A LOT. also, i keep baggies of goldfish crackers, popcorn, ritz, graham crackers, even cheese, yogurt, or appples if i have the means to keep them cold, and i offer him that for the ride home. it takes the edge off and i am able to concentrate without him throwing fits and following me around crying. another thing i do is feed him a really good breakfast before we go to school. he eats oatmeal or cream of wheat and it really seems to get him started on the right foot every day. good luck!

    Reply

  3. Mae
    Oct 12, 2011 @ 20:18:08

    Alcohol always seems to make me less cranky…..

    Reply

  4. Erynn
    Oct 20, 2011 @ 05:21:50

    Same problem here with my 15 month boy. He’s a HUGE eater. Cries all the way home from daycare, will take down a cup of milk and then I am feeding him snacks just so I can get a second to cook. Today he ate a banana and a hamburger bun. I need to be a bit more creative than what is just laying on my counter at the moment, but it made him quiet. For a while anyway. And, the daycare gives me a sheet each day of what he ate and he ALWAYS eats seconds of EVERYTHING for breakfast, lunch and snack. Total opposite of my girl who can eat 4 peas and be full for the day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

