Children: Sharing Illness Since the Dawn of Time

As I write this, I’ve had to stop and blow my nose. Twice. I’m achy. My throat is scratchy. I’m sick. And, I know exactly who to blame: the petri dish of day care.

You may recall, on my second day of work, my toddler’s day care called saying he had a fever. He hasn’t been in a day care environment that much, so he’s getting his first real dose of germs. Building antibodies, right? He’s been coughing all week. Waking up multiple times a night. This makes me into a Mommy Zombie. Now my daughter is coughing too.

While day care offers socialization skills and learning, I forgot how much I hate, hate, hate the germs. Ugh.

Beyond chicken soup, any great ideas out there on how to knock these germs out of my kids and my house?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. kalleyc
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 19:37:24

    Hmm, for colds there is nothing else really to do besides rest and chicken noodle soup. You can always “sweat” the cold out, hot soup and teas. But it’s going to take time.

    I remember when I did after-school for the first time after being away from children in a long time. It didn’t take a day and I was suffering from what the kids were suffering from.

    Don’t worry, this shall pass.

    Reply

  2. Miss Katy
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 22:44:39

    I recommend you wash yours and your childrens hands more often, teach healthy habits and not focus on blaming the daycare. Too often I see parents immediatly blame a new daycare or back to school setting. Yes the child is being exposed to a new environment with more children from different backrounds and there is a higher risk than that of just staying at home. However, cross contamination is significantly decreased by healthy habits. Ask your provider what their policy is for handwashing and also their policies for teaching healthy habits and allowing children to attend when sick.(how sick is too sick?). Hope that helps 🙂

    Reply

  3. Deb
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 02:03:05

    I make homemade chicken rice/noodle/ vegetable soup, with as fresh of garlic and ginger added to it, as I can get. Rosemary helps too. LOTS of chicken broth in it. I keep tubes of both spices in fresh paste form in the fridge, just for this. The kids and relatives call it “magic soup”. In a pinch, you could add this stuff to canned chicken noodle soup too. All I know is at least mentally, it helps. =-)

    Reply

  4. Misty Rose Loreen Nesvick
    Oct 05, 2011 @ 05:12:48

    For the 2 Older ones: Emergen-C KIDZ and Emergen-C for you too. A packet each EVERY DAY until you kick it. We give our 3 year old a 1/2 packet and she LOVES her “fizzy drink.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

