The Late for School Shuffle

I woke this morning to my five-year old standing over me. My alarm clock had not yet gone off. As I was about to say “Go back to bed,” my son says “Mom. It’s morning. I’m dressed. May I (see how he asks properly?) go upstairs and watch cartoons?” Totally taken aback by his proper use of “May I?” and the fact that it was too damn early, I said yes. Then, I went back to sleep. My eyes had just closed for maybe a few seconds when my alarm clock went off. My old friend, Mr Snooze Button, visited for a couple of minutes. I eventually dragged myself out of bed and into the shower, careful not to wake the two children asleep in my bed.

When I got out of the shower, the baby was just waking up. My nine-year old, however, was in a deep slumber. When people see her, they always say she is my “Mini Me.” It’s totally true. We look a lot alike. But, it wasn’t until recently (oh, okay. It was this morning in the car…) that I realized we are much more alike. Looking at her, asleep in bed, covers pulled tightly over her ear, I spotted it: she’s like my inner child. What I wouldn’t give to pull the covers over my head some days. But, today, I have to work. So, she needed to get up.

Funny how quickly your tone will change as a parent when speaking to your child.

It started with a sweet “Wake up sleepy head.”

Then, it was “Baby Girl… time to get up.”

Soon, it shifted to “You have got to get up. Now!”

And later, it morphed into “I’m serious! Get out of bed. Now! You are going to be late for school!!!”

Ah, relaxing mornings… Remind your single friends of this the next time they complain about being late for work. Shut it.

So, the rushing around commenced. This had a lot to do with the fact that I had no idea what I was going to wear to work. My “Mommy Uniform” of yoga pants and a long sleeve T would not be acceptable attire. I finally found something decent and ran upstairs to make the kids something to eat. Eventually, we made it to the car. We were running late and I still had to drop the baby at the sitter. You know, the baby that is with me 24/7? Yeah… he didn’t take too well to being dropped off. He screamed. Initiate Mommy Guilt in three, two, one… Blast off.

We rushed, rushed, rushed to the kids’ school. We made it before the bell rang. They ran out of the car without so much as a “Bye Mom.” And, I was off. I realized I was all alone in the car. Something about that makes me want to say bad words and take up smoking. I listened to music and had a relaxing drive to work. And for the next eight hours… I have no butt to wipe but my own. Then, it’s the mad dash to pick up kids, feed them, love them and get them to bed, just to start it all over again tomorrow.

My questions for you:

What do you do to expedite the morning shuffle?

And….

What child-free car behavior do you partake in?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mae
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 17:50:27

    I dress my son while he is still sleeping… I don’t brush my hair most days and when the kiddos are finally out of the car, I close my eyes and just for a second pretend I am back in my comfy bed….

    Reply

  2. Lee
    Aug 22, 2011 @ 22:31:52

    I tried to make lunches the night before and make sure all the homework was gathered and in backpacks so there wasn’t a lot of yelling, screaming and running around looking for papers in the morning.

    Reply

  3. Rhonda
    Oct 13, 2011 @ 08:08:22

    I have four daughters,(ages 4,7,9,11) so I have mastered the morning shuffle – at least most of the time. The girls have to get their back packs ready and by the door, lunch boxes on the counter, and school clothes for the next morning on the table before they get to turn on the tv. Pick out your clothes before you go to bed (and check theirs). Mornings are less hectic and it takes us less than an hour for 5 girls to be out the door. My girls love to sleep as late as possible in the morning – so on the rare occassion they don’t want to get their things ready in the evening, I just remind them they will have to get up early. They would much rather sleep in than argue.
    Oh yeah, when the the car is empty, just enjoy the quiet – and remember that earned it 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

