Who is that Scary Lady in the Mirror?!

We all have this picture of ourselves in our mind’s eye. This vision of what we look like to other people. Some days, we over-inflate our attractiveness, other times we don’t give our selves enough credit.

I just flipped through the comics in today’s Sunday paper. Have you looked yet? Click here to read today’s Baby Blues. Assuming you’ve read the right day’s comic strip, the Mom keeps catching a glimpse of her reflection in the mirror and seeing this beleaguered woman staring back… until her husband calls her and she feels beautiful.

It reminds me of a scene in the movie “Mean Girls” where these teenage girls are standing in front of the mirror pointing out their (nonexistent) flaws. We are all so quick to point out what doesn’t look right about ourselves. But then, someone says something to make us feel pretty.

Sometimes it’s my five-year old. That kid can really do numbers on my self-esteem by just opening his mouth. Most days it’s “Mommy, you have a fat tummy” but every once in a while he’ll say something like “Mommy, you look pretty.” I said every once in a while…

Now, I know there will be women reading this thinking or commenting on how we shouldn’t let men determine how we feel about ourselves. Hell, there’s plenty of magazines that will make us do that. Go to your bathroom and flip one open. I’ll wait. Okay, got it? See that famous lady on the front? What do you think she weighs? 100? A buck 15? Well, if she did, I’m sure she’d be considered obese by magazine standards. And that’s what we compete with. If a magazine makes me feel like the lady in the comic strip seeing herself all nasty in every mirror and one comment makes me feel a little beter, is it all that bad?

Self image… we should all have a good self-image. Uh huh. That’s why we put on lipstick before we walk out the door, right?

Hmm. Not sure what went wrong with this blog post. It started innocently enough, talking about a cute comic strip, and now I am on one heck of a crazy rant…

I’m done. I’m just saying, every once in a while, it’s nice to be told you look pretty.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clarice
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 19:50:58

    Right now I’m in yesterday’s clothes. Don’t judge lol I was too tired I passed out at 10pm btw how lame is that? Who passes out at 10 on a Saturday night? Me! I’m still trying to get back into the swing of things. None the less I’m not always in top model attire neither. We’re moms stuff gets spilled, thrown, tossed, chucked! I can live with that 🙂

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 22:41:32

    I’m in yesterday’s clothes too!!! But I stayed up well past midnight partying…well, okay, I was doing laundry. We can pretend we’re still cool, right? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Clarice
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 20:32:25

    We sure can 🙂

    Reply

  4. Domestiç Reclusë
    Aug 03, 2011 @ 01:49:49

    Heck, those pretty chicas in today’s magazines are a dime a dozen, most of whom will be forgotten and replaced by yet another pretty face, in just a few short months! Do I want to be like that, a woman who’s quickly forgotten and tossed out like a paper plate? I don’t think so!

    The memorable women offered more than just beauty to the world… they offered grace, mystique, and/or wisdom beyond their years – they were a “real” woman in every way.

    Kids in this decade still know who Marilyn Monroe is — she’s not just another pretty face like many of the models you see in magazines. FYI, Marilyn wore a size 12 (16 at her biggest). She’s well-rounded (physically) compared to today’s models. Today’s sizes have been altered to where Marilyn’s size 12 would be around size 8 to 10 now — or what basically equates to us feeding into this “skinny” mindset, as well as feeds into the appearance of models who mostly look like adolescent boys! 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

