Too Young To Breastfeed?

I am deliriously tired. So, give me a break if this only makes partial sense.

I’m filling in today, producing the first half hour of The Morning Show at Channel 2. That means, I had to be here at midnight. That also means, I had to attempt to sleep a little during the day yesterday with my three kids wandering around the house. (My cousins watched them. They had supervision.) As you might expect, I didn’t get much sleep once the kids discovered I was in my bedroom.

So, I’m putting together this half hour of news and I stumble across this intriguing story out of Indiana about the controversy of a new baby doll, one you can breastfeed. It’s called “The Breast Milk Baby” and it’s being unveiled in the US this weekend. It’s sold millions in Europe already.

The doll is designed for kids as young as two. Here’s a description from WNDU’s story: “A GIRL PUTS ON A HALTER TOP, AND THE DOLL SUCKS ON TWO APPLIQUÉS. SENSORS ACTIVATE MOTIONS AND SUCKLING SOUNDS ONCE IT ATTACHES. IT CRIES WHEN IT NEEDS BURPING TOO.”

Critics say it’s too graphic for young children. They claim it will promote teen pregnancy. In two-year olds?

Advocates of the doll says it’s mimicking a natural event. Kids play baby all the time. They feed their babies bottles. So, what’s the difference?

What do you think? Two may be too young to breastfeed, but is it too young to pretend?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie Gallentine Melielo
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 14:36:19

    What else do we need to do in our quest to replace kids’ imaginative play. Good grief! Misty would “breast feed” her doll when Amanda was nursing. Can we please just leave kids’ imaginations alone!

    Reply

  2. Amy
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 22:47:31

    My daughter also liked to breastfed her baby doll when my youngest was nursing. It was very cute. She said “mommy, you have vanilla milk, and mine is strawberry!” 🙂 I’m all for things that teach our children that babies are fed from the breast, not always from a bottle.

    Reply

  3. Jenn
    Oct 22, 2011 @ 01:42:21

    My oldest son use to watch me nurse his baby brother all the time (they are 2yrs apart). I almost died laughing at the big Sunday family dinner table when he got up to get his stuffed animal, sat back in his highchair, lifted his shirt, puts the animals head on his peck & looked around the table as if nothing out of the ordinary was happening.

    If you want my two cents, I think it’s great they’re coming out with something like that. It’s up to parents to choose what toys are acceptable in their household, so a toy like this just gives another option besides the bottle. No one is forcing people to buy them are they…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

