Getting Naked

Do you ever get that feeling that you’re being watched? Has it ever happened in the shower? It did to me a few days ago. I had scurried into the bathroom to take a quick shower, hoping none of the kids would notice I was gone.

I was standing there with my eyes closed, letting myself relax for a whole two seconds under the water, when I felt it. A presence. I slowly turned my head. There he was. Watching me. He had a wicked grin on his face. He stood between the curtains. Then, he started to get in behind me. I tried screaming at him to get away. It was no use. He was in the water with me. I had no recourse. He, of course, is my toddler.

My baby boy has a bad habit of climbing in and out of the tub. It happens when there’s water in it and when the tub is dry. He climbs in fully clothed.

Beyond my fears of him drowning, I guess my biggest problem with this is he stands there watching me shower. It’s the look he gives me while he’s watching me. He’s a toddler, not a pervert. But, still. It skeeves me out.

When my five-year old sees me naked, he points out my fat. When my nine-year old sees me naked, she asks when she’s going to get this or that. (Think hair or boobs.) When my 18 month old sees me naked, he just stares. I wonder what his little brain is thinking.

Speaking of nakedness, at what age do you think you should not be naked around your children anymore? Is it better to be naked around them and instill good body image? Should you teach them the shameful coverup? Do you let your kids wander naked around the house?

Just to clarify, I’m not running a nudist colony out of my house. I’m talking necessary nakedness. In and out of the shower. Changing clothes and the kids bust in. That kind of naked.  

Tell me… when should you keep things under wraps?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Domestiç Reclusë
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 16:02:43

    I breastfed both kids, so technically I’ve been partially naked to them for ages anyway. LOL Basically, I make sure they don’t catch me nude or in my undies once they start realizing the physical differences between my body and theirs.

    My son was around 2 to 3yrs old when I started to teach him about privacy, knocking when doors are closed, etc. It’s also when I started making sure he didn’t catch me in the nude, at least not on purpose. Sometimes I forget to lock the bathroom door & he walks in, but he’s learned to look down & quickly walk out. As for my rugrat, she was 4yrs old when she noticed that we’re both girls, but we still had physical differences. She is a bit clingy though, so sometimes she’ll come up to my room and play with my jewelry or makeup (and keep her head turned away) while I’m getting dressed, but I’ve also had that same privacy talk with her like I did with her bro, as well as having to explain to her why our bodies are different even though we’re both girls.

    My son’s a teen now who’s going through puberty, and as pervy as this sounds, I’ve noticed that he’s started to take special notice in our physical differences and stuff, so I’ve been extra careful with being under wraps and making sure rugrat is covered up too. She tends to be the one who likes running around in nothing but undies, not sure what that’s all about. LOL

    Reply

  2. John c Ivanoff
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 02:15:16

    What about a stay at home Dad? There?is

    Reply

    • Mom Land
      Mar 21, 2012 @ 13:25:17

      John, I know some stay at home dads! They are awesome. I think most of my posts apply to both moms and dads. It looks like your comment came incomplete. Did you have more to say?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

