Sleepovers are like Hangovers

There really is a reason “sleepovers” and “hangovers” sound alike. They are alike. Today, my oldest child turns nine. She had a friend sleep over last night. So, why do I feel hungover today?

First, there’s a lot of partying. You scream at the top of your lungs. Well, they scream in a playful way. We scream in the “Dear Lord! If you children wake the baby somebody’s gonna lose an eye!” kind of way.

You stay up late. They stay up screaming, playing, watching movies and pretending they are princesses trapped in a faraway land awaiting rescue. You stay up late hollering at them to go to sleep, threatening to separate them if they don’t go to sleep. And soon.

You eat random things. They sneak into my room at a quarter to midnight saying they’re hungry and asking what they can have to snack on. (I recall this stage of the all night party. In college, we’d get drunk and go to “El Burrito Loco” and eat a burrito the size of my forearm. It seemed smart, until the next morning.)

You might have the occasional sleepover dispute. “No, that’s my doll!” or “No, I get to be the Mom this time!” Luckily, we didn’t have any of that last night.

After all the fun, the screaming, the snacks and the staying up late, they were the ones bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at 8:00am. They bound into my room, demanding I sing the birthday song. I comply. I lay there thinking about my sweet baby girl and how she’s “almost double digits,” as she informed me yesterday. I think about how I should get up and make her chocolate chip pancakes. Then, I think about the sleepover hangover I have.

Sleepover Hangovers are typically not accompanied by vomiting, like normal hangovers. Symptoms usually consist of an inability to think straight, sensitivity to light, a blaring headache made worse by the screams of small children and exhaustion. Oh, and did I mention irritability? There is  no known cure for a sleepover hangover. Top Scientists (aka desperate moms) are working day and night, researching this disorder. Until they find a cure, I’m going to sip my coffee, enjoy my baby girl’s last year of single digitness and treasure how she is so worth the three hours of pushing.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lisa
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 17:26:24

    Happy Birthday to your girl!! I can’t believe she is 9!

    Reply

  2. Clarice
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 07:28:26

    9? Gulps in throat
    My they grow up fast and 3 hours uggh really? Is that labor altogether or just. Pushing cause if it’s labor already you’re getting slapped next time I see you lol

    Reply

  3. Myrna
    Jun 29, 2011 @ 19:19:57

    Glad to hear there wasn’t much fighting, since it was my kid at the sleepover! And yes, she is a night owl.

    Reply

  4. Clarice
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 04:23:29

    Lol ok you’re safe 🙂 I saw a story about a woman whose labor was 2 HOURS ALTOGETHER!! Ugh it irks me! Lol so unfair

    Reply

Leave a Reply

