Father’s Day Failure

Father’s Day, in my mind, means breakfast in bed, home-made cards and maybe, a crappy tie. This year, I failed on all three counts.

My brother and I gathered our funds and I took my Dad and his wife out to breakfast. (My brother is out-of-state, so a lot of times he sends the money and I pick the gift.) We started the day by going to their church and then went for a nice breakfast. By nice, I mean we were stuffed to the gills. I did forget his present at home, which was not a tie…

For the father of my children, I failed all around. I forgot to tell him Happy Father’s Day until later in the afternoon. I didn’t have a gift for him. It was all around awkward. Our preschooler made him a card. It was sweet.

So, I’m wondering… what did you do for Father’s Day? Success stories? Massive failures? Also, is it your job to buy the father of your children a gift or do you only buy your own dad something? Do share!

Oh, by the way, I made a whopping $3 at my garage sale Saturday. For those of you who thought I was just being funny about washing and shaving my dog, you are wrong. I really was that bored. Guess I should have been working on a Father’s Day card….

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 18:48:52

    Massive fail on my end. My hubby had to work on Fathers Day. I made him a special dessert, and we had dinner with his family…but I didn’t get him a gift or a card. My kids attempted to clean their rooms as a “gift”, but never truly accomplished much besides playing. I should have had them put their efforts into a card. Fail!

    Reply

  2. Clarice
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 00:50:38

    EPIC FAIL. I took our dad out for lunch but didn’t get him nor Ricky a card. I had the idea to put rickys fav pic of rishawn and him on a shirt but the guy that said he would do it lost contact with me, I had no clue what to get him besides that so I told him he could rest and not clean (even though he does that anyway) I feel bad but then again I didn’t get anything for mothers day either so I guess we’re even

    Reply

Leave a Reply

